Grab our free sample or generate an official South Carolina month-to-month rental agreement for residential use. Read further about required disclosures, optional addendums for things like pets, and how much notice is needed to terminate month-to-month leases in South Carolina.
Click here to view/download the direct PDF file.
What is a South Carolina Month-to-Month Lease?
A month-to-month lease is a flexible rental option that allows for a shorter-term agreement between the landlord and the tenant. The agreement will typically start with one month in the unit, and at the end of that time, if neither party wishes to end the contract, the lease will renew for the next month. This short-term lease is an excellent option for anyone who is going to only be in the area for a short period of time. It will allow the tenant to move out with very little notice, and it will allow the landlord to easily find a new tenant when the one that is living in the unit does not work out as intended.
South Carolina Requirements for a Month-to-Month Lease Termination
When a tenant wants to end a month-to-month rental relationship, they only need to provide the landlord with a notice of 30 days. This will give the landlord plenty of time to find a new tenant to fill the vacancy. When the landlord wishes to end the tenancy, they will need to give the tenant the same 30-day notice to vacate. This should provide the tenant with ample time to find a new place to live in the area.
Raising the Rent in South Carolina
When the landlord would like to change any of the terms of the lease after the first term has passed, they will need to provide the tenant with at least a 30-day notice. This will include raising the rent. There are no laws stating how much the rent can be increased by in this state or how often it can be raised, so as long as the 30-day notice is provided, the tenant can either accept the change in the rent or object to the terms in writing.