- Tenant to Landlord (End of Lease) [.pdf] – no prior notice is required in South Carolina at the end of a fixed-term lease, but it is recommended to send the landlord a letter.
- Tenant to Landlord (Month-to-Month) [.pdf] – notice is required at least 30 days prior to a payment date in South Carolina for month-to-month leases or “at will” tenants that pay rent month-to-month.
- Landlord to Tenant (End of Lease) [.pdf] – no prior notice is required in South Carolina at the end of a fixed-term lease, but it is recommended to send the tenant a letter.
- Landlord to Tenant (Month-to-Month) [.pdf] – notice is required at least 30 days prior to a payment date in South Carolina for month-to-month leases or “at will” tenants that pay rent month-to-month.
Purpose. A South Carolina lease termination letter (“Notice to Vacate”) is a required document to end month-to-month lease agreements in South Carolina. State law requires giving at least 30 days notice for termination. However, state law does not require notice to be given to end fixed term lease agreements on their end date.
Read further to learn more about notice requirements and the residential lease termination process in South Carolina.
South Carolina Notice Requirements for Lease Termination by Tenant
- When a tenant has a fixed-term lease, there is no notice required when they wish to vacate the premises. As long as they are leaving the property when the contract ends, this is true, but some landlords ask that they get a notice of at least 60 days from the tenant if possible.
- A tenant with a month-to-month lease must provide the landlord with notice of no less than 30 days.
- With a week-to-week rental agreement, the tenant will need to give the landlord at least seven days’ worth of notice before moving out.
Legally Terminating a Lease Early in South Carolina
- If the tenant is entering active duty in the military, they can legally break the terms of their lease. The tenant must be part of the uniformed services for the country.
- When the housing unit is not habitable according to the local and state housing laws, the tenant can break the lease. This will include significant issues in the unit like a lack of heat.
- In South Carolina, a landlord is required to provide the tenant with 24 hours of notice before entering the unit. If this is not provided, it is a violation of privacy and a reason to break the lease. Turning off the utilities, changing the locks, or removing the doors also fall under this category.