The Nebraska rental agreements are contracts between a landlord and a tenant. These documents outline the amount of the rent, duration of the tenancy, and other terms associated with the use of the property. All rental agreements are governed by the Nebraska state landlord-tenant laws.
Nebraska Rental Agreement Types
The Nebraska residential lease agreement (“rental agreement”) includes the terms and conditions regarding the fixed period rental of residential property in exchange for periodic payments. Before a lease agreement is signed, both parties should negotiate the terms to ensure the arrangement is fair for both sides. Related Documents: Month-to-Month Agreement | Rental…
The Nebraska month-to-month rental agreement or “tenancy at will,” allows a tenant to rent from a landlord for a fee, for a period of one month at a time. This document has no end date but enables either party to alter or terminate the agreement monthly. A month-to-month rental, which is also…
The Nebraska rental application form is a document that landlords send out to a prospective tenant to determine whether they are an eligible tenant or not. The information requested is used for background screening purposes and relates to rental history, eviction history, and financial information. QUICK INFO Application Fee - in Nebraska,…
The Nebraska sublease agreement is a binding contract that allows an existing tenant ("sublessor") to rent (“sublease”) rental property to a new tenant (“subtenant”) in exchange for regular, periodic payments. The initial tenant must have permission from the landlord to begin subletting the property. These can be useful arrangements because the sublease…
The Michigan roommate agreement (“room rental agreement”) is a binding legal contract that outlines the terms and conditions that must be followed by two or more tenants sharing the same rental property. It also contains information about each tenants’ financial and social obligations. The actual contract is not between the new tenant…
The Nebraska commercial lease agreement is a written contract that allows a business entity to rent office space, retail buildings, or industrial space. This document establishes the relationship between the landlord and the business, as well as outlining the terms and conditions associated with occupying the space. Nebraska Commercial Landlord/Tenant Laws Commercial…
Nebraska Required Lease Disclosures
- Landlord’s Name & Address (required for all) – Every Nebraska lease must disclose the landlord’s name and address or that of an authorized agent in order to open communication if a legal notice or demand must be delivered.
- Lead Based Paint Disclosures (required for some) – Buildings built before 1978 are at risk for lead based paint, so Nebraska landlords are required to give notice of any existing hazards alongside a disclosure form as well as an Environmental Protection Agency-approved pamphlet outlining safety information.
To learn more about required disclosures in Nebraska, click here.
Nebraska Landlord Tenant Laws
- Warranty of Habitability – In Nebraska, a landlord must provide all tenants in their dwellings with proper plumbing, running water, air conditioning, electrical outlets, and more. Upon request, any of these amenities must be repaired by that landlord within 14 days. If they don’t do this, a tenant may have the right to withhold rent payments.
- Evictions – A Nebraska tenant may be evicted legally if they fail to pay rent (7-day notice), violated their lease terms (14-day notice), or commit a crime (5-day notice). With this in mind, most evictions in Nebraska can be wrapped up within 2 weeks.
- Security Deposits – A standard security deposit in Nebraska cannot be valued at more than 1 month’s rent. Also, any security deposits maintained by a Nebraska landlord must be returned to their tenant within 14 days of their lease ending.
- Lease Termination – In Nebraska, a month-to-month lease can be terminated early. To do this, a tenant must file a 30-day notice to their landlord. Early termination can also be granted for fixed-term leases for the following reasons: active military duty, landlord harassment, and unit uninhabitability.
- Rent Increases & Fees – In practice, landlords in Nebraska can raise rent whenever they want. At the same time, these increases only need to be accompanied by as much notice as a single leasing period (usually a month). Most all operational fees can also be charged, as long as they are in the lease agreement. Returned check fees are limited to $10 in value, though.
- Landlord Entry – A Nebraska landlord must always issue notice of their entry 1 full day in advance. Otherwise, a tenant has a right to deny entry. However, this notice requirement does not apply in emergency situations when permission cannot be prudently denied.
- Settling Legal Disputes – Nebraska’s small claims courts are limited in scope. They only accept cases valued at $3,500 or less that do not involve evictions. These cases must also fall within the statute of limitations (5 years for written contracts, 4 years for oral contracts).
To learn more about landlord tenant laws in Nebraska, click here.