The Kansas rental agreements are contracts between a landlord and a tenant. These documents define the terms under which the property is used, including the price of rent and more. All agreements are governed by the Kansas landlord-tenant laws and cannot supersede state laws.
Kansas Rental Agreement Types
Common Rental Agreements in Kansas
- Kansas Association of Realtors Agricultural Farm Building Lease Agreement – this template, for use by members of the Kansas Association of Realtors only, is used for leasing agricultural farm buildings or livestock facilities. The lease agreement specifically outlines cash rent payments and how clean water will be supplied for the livestock.
Kansas Required Lease Disclosures
- Landlord’s Name & Address (required for all) – Every Kansas lease must disclose the contact information for the owner and/or agent(s) authorized to act on the rental unit’s behalf for the purpose of serving legal notices.
- Move-in Checklist (required for all) – A Kansas landlord must provide a move-in checklist to the possessing tenant within 5 days of move-in where both parties agree to existing damages the tenant can waive liability for, with each party receiving a copy of the checklist to be used at move-out for security deposit deductions.
- Lead-Based Paint Disclosure (required for some) – If built before 1978, a Kansas rental agreement must include a lead-based paint disclosure, EPA-approved informational pamphlet, and notice of existing hazards so that tenants may weigh the risks of tenancy.
To learn more about required disclosures in Kansas, click here.
Kansas Landlord Tenant Laws
- Warranty of Habitability – A Kansas landlord is responsible for providing their tenants with adequate plumbing, electrical outlets, HVAC, and more. They are also responsible for making repairs within 14 days after notice is given. If a landlord does not make the repairs, Kansas tenants may not withhold rent or repair and deduct.
- Evictions – Kansas landlords may evict tenants for a number of reasons including, but not limited to failure to pay rent, a violation of a leasing term, or no lease/end of lease term. Landlords must provide tenants with prior notice to pay, comply or quit, depending on the type of eviction. In all, an eviction in Kansas could take less than a week or more than a month to complete.
- Security Deposits – Kansas limits security deposit values to 1 month (unfurnished) or 1 ½ months’ value (furnished). These must be returned to their tenant within 14 days (from determination of deductions) or 30 days (lease termination).
- Lease Termination – A Kansas tenant may terminate their month-to-month lease by providing 30 days of notice. A fixed-term tenant may also do the same by providing proof of unit uninhabitability, landlord harassment, or active military duty.
- Rent Increases & Fees – Kansas landlords can charge as much as they desire for rent. They can also raise rent whenever they want, without justification and no prior notice is required, but recommended. As for fees, Kansas does not limit their value, except in the case of bounced check fees, these are limited to $30 per check.
- Landlord Entry – Kansas landlords need to give tenants a “reasonable” amount of notice to enter their unit. Landlord entry should be at reasonable hours, except for emergency situations.
- Settling Legal Disputes – To settle a claim of $4,000 or less (except evictions), Kansas landlords and tenants can utilize the state’s small claims court. These claims must fall within the 5- and 3-year statute of limitations for written and oral contracts, respectively.
To learn more about landlord tenant laws in Kansas, click here.