A Kansas month-to-month lease agreement is a contract (written or oral) that allows a tenant to rent property from a landlord, in exchange for a fee (“rent”), for a period of thirty days at a time. The agreement remains active until either party gives proper notice to end it.
Note: For fixed term leases in Kansas (i.e., 1-year), click here.
How do Kansas Month-to-Month Lease Agreements Work?
A landlord and tenant can enter into a month-to-month lease through a written contract or oral agreement. It does not have to be written.
Once the lease is active, both parties are given full rights under Kansas landlord tenant law. This includes the landlord’s responsibility to provide a living space, the tenant’s responsibility to pay rent in a timely manner and all other rights and responsibilities.
How Much Notice is Needed to End the Lease?
In Kansas, a landlord may terminate a month-to-month lease agreement by giving at least 30 days’ notice. KS Stat § 58-2570
Notice must be provided in written form.
How Much Notice is Needed to Raise the Rent?
Kansas has no specific statute for an increase in rent. Generally, it is common practice for landlords to provide month-to-month tenants with a 30 days’ notice.
Notice must also be provided in written form.
Are There Notice Delivery Requirements?
In Kansas there are notice delivery requirements. Notice may be served to the tenant by leaving a copy at the place of residence, delivering a copy to an individual who is 12 years old or older, posting a copy of the notice in a conspicuous place or by registered/certified mail with a return receipt requested. KS Stat § 58-2510
How are Month-to-Month Tenants Evicted in Kansas?
After the landlord gives proper notice, and that period of time elapses, the lease expires and is no longer active.
If a tenant remains on the property after lease expiry, the landlord may move forward with the eviction process to remove the tenant by filing a complaint with the applicable county court in Kansas. The process for eviction can be completed in 3 weeks to 3 months but can take longer depending on the circumstances.
For more information on the eviction process in Kansas, click here.