A New Mexico month-to-month rental agreement is a contract (not necessarily in writing) which allows a tenant to rent property from a landlord, for one month at a time, in exchange for a fee (“rent”). The rental renews monthly, until either party gives proper notice to end it.
Basics of a New Mexico Month-to-Month Rental Agreement
In New Mexico, a landlord and tenant create a month-to-month lease by agreeing to rent a property according to acceptable terms. Written rental agreements are clearer and legally stronger, but oral leases are legal in a month-to-month context.
Parties under a month-to-month lease enjoy full rights under New Mexico landlord-tenant law. The tenant must use the property in a responsible way and pay rent on time. The landlord must keep essential features of the property in habitable condition, and protect the tenant’s quiet enjoyment of the lease.
The main difference between a month-to-month lease and a fixed-term lease is that month-to-month leases can be terminated (with proper notice) by either party for any reason without penalty. Landlords also can usually modify terms from one month to the next, again with proper notice.
Required Disclosures for Month-to-Month Rentals in New Mexico
New Mexico landlords may not rent a property out without making the following disclosures to a potential tenant, as relevant:
- Landlord’s Name and Address – Landlords must give the tenant their name and address, or that of their authorized agent, to enable smooth communication of legal notice.
- Late Fee Disclosure – New Mexico will only enforce late fees agreed in the lease, including the fee amount and the timeline for charges.
- Lead-Based Paint – Landlords must provide an EPA-approved disclosure and informational pamphlet to tenants renting any property built before 1978.
Required Notice To End a Month-to-Month Rental in New Mexico
New Mexico lets both the landlord or tenant terminate a month-to-month lease with at least 30 days of advance notice. In general, any reason that isn’t landlord retaliation is a legal and valid grounds for ending a month-to-month lease.
New Mexico requires written notice to end a month-to-month lease. In general, notice in New Mexico must be mailed to a party’s address of record, or delivered by hand.
Required Notice To Raise the Rent on a New Mexico Month-to-Month Lease
New Mexico requires that notice for a rental increase be delivered at least 30 days in advance, in writing, either hand-delivered or mailed to the address of record.
Eviction in New Mexico Month-to-Month Rentals
New Mexico tenants may face eviction for violating a month-to-month lease or remaining on the property after the notice period allowed by a valid termination. Evictions in New Mexico typically take two to seven weeks.
For more information on the eviction process in New Mexico, click here.