A Utah month-to-month lease agreement is a contract (written or oral) that allows a tenant to rent property from a landlord, in exchange for a fee (“rent”), for a period of thirty days at a time. The agreement remains active until either party gives proper notice to end it.
Note: For fixed term leases in Utah (i.e., 1-year), click here.
How do Utah Month-to-Month Lease Agreements Work?
A landlord and tenant can enter into a month-to-month lease through a written contract or oral agreement. It does not have to be written.
Once the lease is active, both parties are given full rights under Utah landlord tenant law. This includes the landlord’s responsibility to provide a habitable living space, the tenant’s responsibility to pay rent in a timely manner and all other rights and responsibilities.
How Much Notice is Needed to End the Lease?
In Utah a landlord may terminate a month-to-month lease agreement by giving at least 15 days’ notice. Utah Code 78B-6-802
The law does not state the amount of notice a tenant should provide, but it is customary to provide the same amount of notice (15 days’ notice) that the landlord must provide.
Notice must be provided in written form.
How Much Notice is Needed to Raise the Rent?
In Utah, there is no state statute on the amount of notice that needs to be given to a tenant for a rent increase. However, it is customary for a landlord to provide at least a 15 days’ notice for the rent increase.
Are There Notice Delivery Requirements?
In Utah there are notice delivery requirements. A notice may be served to the tenant by using one of the following methods Utah Code 78B-6-805:
- Hand delivery.
- Sending a copy through registered mail or certified mail.
- If the tenant is absent from the property then leaving a copy with a person who is of suitable age.
- If no person can be found, then a copy may be affixed in a conspicuous place on the property.
How are Month-to-Month Tenants Evicted in Utah?
After the landlord gives proper notice, and that period of time elapses, the lease expires and is no longer active.
If a tenant remains on the property after lease expiry, the landlord may move forward with the eviction process to remove the tenant by filing a complaint with the applicable county court in Utah. The process for eviction can be completed in 1-4 months, but can take longer depending on the circumstances.
For more information on the eviction process in Utah, click here.