A Nevada month-to-month lease agreement is a contract (written or oral) that allows a tenant to rent property from a landlord, in exchange for a fee (“rent”), for a period of thirty days at a time. The agreement remains active until either party gives proper notice to end it.
Note: For fixed term leases in Nevada (i.e., 1-year), click here.
How do Nevada Month-to-Month Lease Agreements Work?
A landlord and tenant can enter into a month-to-month lease through a written contract or oral agreement. It does not have to be written.
Once the lease is active, both parties are given full rights under Nevada landlord tenant law. This includes the landlord’s responsibility to provide a habitable living space, the tenant’s responsibility to pay rent in a timely manner and all other rights and responsibilities.
How Much Notice is Needed to End the Lease?
In Nevada, either party may terminate a month-to-month lease agreement by giving at least 30 days’ notice. NV Rev Stat § 40.251
In Nevada, if a tenant is 60 years or older, has a mental or physical disability the tenant may request an additional 30-day extension. A tenant may submit a written request along with proof of age or disability. If the landlord denies the request, the tenant may petition the court for an order to continue in possession for the additional 30 days. If the court grants the petition, the tenant to continue in possession for the additional 30 days. If the court denies the petition, the tenant must be allowed to continue to have possession of the dwelling unit for 5 calendar days following the date of entry of the order denying the petition.
Notice must be provided in written form.
How Much Notice is Needed to Raise the Rent?
Nevada landlords must provide at least a 45 days’ notice to increase the rent. NV Rev Stat § 118A.300
Notice must also be provided in written form.
Are There Notice Delivery Requirements?
In Nevada there are notice delivery requirements. In the case of the landlord, notice must be delivered in person or by mail to the place of business that was designated as the place for receipt of rental payments in the lease agreement. NV Rev Stat § 118A.190
In the case of the tenant, the notice must be delivered in person in the presence of a witness (unless the service was completed by a sheriff, constable or licensed process server). If the tenant is not at their place of residence or their place of business, a landlord may leave a copy with a person who lives there. If no person is found, then the landlord may mail a copy to the tenant. NV Rev Stat § 40.280
How are Month-to-Month Tenants Evicted in Nevada?
After the landlord gives proper notice, and that period of time elapses, the lease expires and is no longer active.
If a tenant remains on the property after lease expiry, the landlord may move forward with the eviction process to remove the tenant by filing a complaint with the applicable county court in Nevada. The process for eviction can be completed in 1-6 weeks, but can take longer depending on the circumstances.
For more information on the eviction process in Nevada, click here.