Nevada Eviction Notice Forms

Last Updated: December 24, 2021 by Elizabeth Souza

A Nevada eviction notice form for nonpayment of rent is a written document that states a tenant has 7 days to pay the rent or to vacate the premises. Additionally, there are other notice forms for other possible grounds for eviction in Nevada.

Types of Nevada Eviction Notices

Each possible ground for eviction has its own notice type. Some notices allow the tenant to fix (“cure”) the issue and continue the tenancy, while others simply state an amount of time to vacate by.

Grounds Time Curable?
Unpaid Rent 7-Day Yes
Lease Violation 5-Day Yes
Lease Termination 5/7/30-Day No
Illegal Activity 3-Day No

7-Day Notice to Pay (Nonpayment of Rent)

A landlord is allowed to evict a tenant for failing to pay rent on time.

According to Nevada law, rent is considered late the day after it’s due; grace periods, if any, are addressed in the lease or rental agreement.

Once rent is past due, the landlord must provide tenants with a 7-Day Notice to Pay if the landlord wants to file an eviction action with the court. This notice gives the tenant the option to pay the past due amount in full within 7 days to avoid eviction.

If the tenant does not pay the rent due by the end of the notice period and remains on the property, the landlord may proceed with the eviction process.

The Eviction Notice for Nonpayment of Rent should include the total amount of past-due rent owed and the fact that the tenant can pay past-due rent in full in order to avoid eviction.

Get the downloadable 7-Day Eviction Notice for Nonpayment of Rent form template below (.pdf direct link).

5-Day Notice to Cure or Vacate (Non-Compliance)

A tenant can be evicted in Nevada if they do not uphold their responsibilities under the terms of a written lease or rental agreement.

Nevada landlords must provide tenants with a 5-Day Notice to Comply, giving the tenant 5 days to correct the issue or move out of the rental unit.

Typical lease violations under this category could include things like damaging the rental property, having too many people residing in the rental unit, and having a pet when there’s a no-pet policy.

Note that illegal activity is not included in this category.

If the tenant fails to correct the issue and remains on the property after the notice period expires, the landlord may proceed with the eviction process.

The notice should include:

  • The specific lease violation(s);
  • What the tenant can do to remedy the violation; and
  • The date the lease will terminate if the tenant doesn’t comply within the deadline.

Get the downloadable 5-Day Eviction Notice for Noncompliance form template below (.pdf direct link).

5/7/30-Day Lease Termination Notice (No Lease/ End of Lease)

In the state of Nevada, if tenants “hold over,” or stay in the rental unit after the rental term has expired, then the landlord must give tenants notice before evicting them. This can include tenants without a written lease and week-to-week and month-to-month tenants.

Often this type of eviction applies to tenants who are at the end of their lease and the landlord doesn’t want to renew.

The amount of time required in the notice depends on the type of tenancy.

  • At-Will Tenants – For at-will tenants, regardless of length of tenancy, the landlord must provide tenants with a 5-Day Notice to Quit.
  • Week-to-Week – If rent is paid on a week-to-week basis, a landlord must provide the tenant with a 7-Day Notice to Quit.
  • Month-to-Month/Periodic – If rent is paid in any time period other than weekly, tenants must be given a 30-Day Notice to Quit.

NOTE: A tenant who is 60 years old or older, or has a mental or physical disability may request an additional 30 days in the rental unit by written notice to the landlord and provides the landlord with proper documentation (i.e. drivers license or social security award letter). The tenant will still be obligated to pay rent on time.

If the tenant remains on the property after the notice period expires, the landlord may proceed with the eviction process.

The notice should include the date the tenancy will terminate.

Get the downloadable 5/7/30-Day Lease Termination Notice form template below (.pdf direct link).

3-Day Notice to Quit (Illegal Activity)

Tenants who are involved in illegal activity must be given 3 days’ written notice before the landlord can proceed with an eviction action.

In Nevada, illegal activity includes:

  • Setting up or running an unlawful business;
  • Illegal possession, use, distribution, manufacture of a controlled substance;
  • Possession of a controlled substance; and
  • Criminal gang activity.

If the tenant remains on the property after the notice period expires, the landlord may continue with the eviction process.

The eviction notice should include the date the tenancy will terminate.

Get the downloadable 3-Day Eviction Notice for Illegal Activity form template below (.pdf direct link).

What to Include in Nevada Eviction Notices

Under Nevada law, all eviction notices are required to contain special language for tenants 60 years old and above, tenants with mental and/or physical disabilities, or for certain types of workers.

The notice should include the fact that residents over the age of 60, or those tenants who have mental and/or physical disabilities, have the right to request a 30-day extension in writing after receiving an eviction notice. However, according to Nevada law, such residents must provide proof of age and/or disability.

Federal, tribal, or state workers (and their household members) may request a written extension if they receive a termination notice and are experiencing a work shutdown at the time of the notice. The request can ask that the extension continue from the date of the shutdown until 30 days after the end of the shutdown.

Unless the landlord can prove that granting an extension for one of the reasons above will create a financial hardship for the landlord, the tenant must be allowed to remain in the rental unit for the amount of time requested in the extension.

Delivering Eviction Notices in Nevada

In the state of Nevada, landlords can deliver an eviction notice through one of the following methods:

  • Giving a copy to the tenant in person;
  • Leaving a copy with someone of “suitable” age and discretion if the tenant cannot be found AND mailing a copy to the tenant; and
  • Posting a copy of the notice in a conspicuous place on the rental unit AND mailing a copy to the tenant.

The notice must be served by the sheriff, constable, or licensed process server. Proof of service must include the badge number or license number of the person who served the notice.

Eviction Process in Nevada

  1. An eviction notice is posted by the landlord to vacate or “cure” the issue.
  2. If the tenant does not vacate when required to do so, a complaint is filed by the landlord with the county court.
  3. A hearing is held and judgement is issued.
  4. If the eviction is granted, an order for removal is posted at the property, giving final notice to the tenant to remove their belongings.
  5. Finally, the sheriff returns possession of the property to the landlord.

To learn more about the eviction process in Nevada, click here.

Sources