The Nevada rental agreements are contracts written between a landlord or property owner and a tenant who wishes to use real property. The tenant agrees to make regular rent payments to continue to use the property. Other terms are defined in the rental agreements.
Nevada Rental Agreement Types
Nevada Required Lease Disclosures
- Landlord’s and Emergency Contact Information (required for all) – Nevada lease agreements are required to provide the contact information for the landlord or an agent acting on their behalf as well as the emergency contact information for someone within 60 miles of the property to handle emergencies.
- Late Fee Disclosure (required for some) – If charging a late fee on late rent payments, Nevada landlords must disclose the fee (not to exceed 5%) in the lease for it to be enforced in a court if the charges are challenged.
- Right to Display American Flag Notice (required for all) – Every Nevada lease agreement must include a notice of the right for tenants to display the American flag on their property or within a common area.
- Foreclosure Disclosure (required for some) – Any Nevada property with a pending disclosure must highlight this fact in the lease agreement with a notice so that tenants have proper notice to relocate and landlords can avoid damages for displacing tenants without notice.
- Utility Charge Breakdown (required for all) – Lease agreements in Nevada must provide a breakdown of who is responsible for the utilities associated with a rental unit and how the charges will be allocated if utilities are shared to help ensure habitability requirements are met with utility availability.
- Move-In Checklist (required for all) – All leases in Nevada must be accompanied by a move-in checklist that outlines the condition of the property and is held onto by the tenant to evaluate damages at the end of the lease term to avoid security deposit deductions.
- Maintaining or Permitting Nuisance Notice (required for all) – Each Nevada lease must provide notice about the charge of a misdemeanor that applies to public nuisance complaints.
- Lead Based Paint Disclosure (required for some) – When a Nevada rental unit was built before 1978, the lease agreement must include a lead disclosure form, EPA pamphlet on the dangers posed, and record of any existing hazards in the building.
To learn more about required disclosures in Nevada, click here.
Nevada Landlord Tenant Laws
- Warranty of Habitability – Nevada law requires landlords to maintain the following amenities: plumbing, running water, in-unit heating, electricity, and more. If any of these amenities requires repairs, the landlord must perform them within 14 days of a problem being reported. If no repairs are made, an effected tenant can withhold rent or perform a repair and deduct.
- Evictions – A Nevada landlord has the option to evict a tenant for failing to pay rent (7-day notice), breaking a lease term (5-day notice), or doing something illegal (3-day notice). Accordingly, most evictions here are carried out in 1-2 weeks.
- Security Deposits – Nevada landlords may not charge security deposits valued at up to 3 times the price of rent. Any deposits up to this limit must be returned within 30 days of tenancy’s termination.
- Lease Termination – In Nevada, a tenant may terminate a month-to-month lease only after providing a 30 day notice of intent. Meanwhile, a tenant here may also terminate a fixed-term lease early for any of the following reasons: active military service, landlord harassment, unit uninhabitability, domestic violence, or advanced age/illness.
- Rent Increases & Fees – Nevada landlords may raise rent as much as they want without providing justification. They must provide notice, though, to the tune of 45 days (periodic tenancy over 1 month) or 15 days (periodic tenancy less than 1 month). Meanwhile, all fees charged by a Nevada landlord are legal if they are outlined in a lease agreement.
- Landlord Entry – Nevada landlords must provide 24 hours of notice before entering a tenant’s unit. This standard cannot be lowered through a lease, nor cannot it be invoked during an emergency situation.
- Settling Legal Disputes – Landlord-tenant disputes valued at up to $7,500 can be heard in Nevada’s small claims courts. These courts are based in each county and may differ when it comes to case filing limitations or eviction case acceptance.
To learn more about landlord tenant laws in Nevada, click here.