The Idaho rental agreements are documents written between a landlord overseeing a real property and the tenant who will use it in exchange for regular payments (“rent”). These contracts include terms and conditions about the use of the property, but they must comply with Idaho landlord-tenant law.
The Idaho residential lease agreement (“rental agreement”) legally binds a lessor (“landlord”) and lessee (“tenant”) to a rental contract for residential property. After the lease is signed and the first month’s rent plus a security deposit is paid, the tenant will be given access to the premises. Create an official Idaho standard…
The Idaho rental application form can help a landlord choose the most viable tenant to lease a property. This form, usually accompanied by a fee, gives the landlord access to a prospective tenant’s background information. The landlord can choose who to rent to based on credit, criminal history, and more. When a…
The Idaho sublease agreement allows a tenant to rent (“sublet”) all (or a portion) of a rental property to a new tenant (“sublessee”) in exchange for regular payments. The original tenant (“sublessor”) must have the landlord’s permission to sublease the property before creating the contract. With a sublease, a lessee can become…
The Idaho roommate agreement (“room rental agreement”) is a contract between all tenants in a shared residential situation (“cotenants”). Each co-tenant is required to sign this document, which details each cotenant’s financial obligation as well as terms and conditions associated with living in the shared space. It is necessary to complete a…
The Idaho commercial lease agreement is a written contract that establishes the relationship between a landlord and a tenant, or a business. This type of lease is used to rent office spaces, retail stores, warehouses, and other commercial spaces. It usually describes the responsibilities of each party. A commercial lease agreement is…
Idaho Required Lease Disclosures
- Lead Based Paint Disclosure (required for some) – For the safety of new tenants, any Idaho property that was built before 1978 is required to include a lead based paint disclosure in or alongside the lease that includes a disclosure form, informational pamphlet from the EPA, and a report of existing hazards.
To learn more about required disclosures in Idaho, click here.
Idaho Landlord Tenant Laws
- Warranty of Habitability – Idaho requires landlords in the state to provide tenants with locking doors and windows, running hot and cold water, smoke detectors, plumbing, and more. When a repair is requested for these amenities, that landlord must also perform repairs within 3 days. Otherwise, an effected tenant has the option to perform a repair and deduct.
- Evictions – Idaho tenants can be evicted legally if they fail to pay rent (3-day notice), commit an illegal act (24-hour notice), or break a leasing term (3-day notice). As such, an eviction in Idaho can be carried out in under a week in many cases.
- Security Deposits – Idaho does not currently limit how much its landlords can charge for a security deposit. However, any funds collected for this purpose must be returned to their rightful tenant 21 days after they move out.
- Lease Termination – Idaho tenants must provide 1 month of notice prior to breaking a month-to-month lease. However, they may be able to do the same in less time with one of the following justifications: active military duty, landlord harassment, or statutory uninhabitability of their unit.
- Rent Increases & Fees – Idaho landlords are free to raise rent whenever they please without providing advance justification. However, any rent increases in Idaho must be preempted by a 15 day notice period. With regards to fees, Idaho landlords can charge most types and amounts due to a lack of statutory limitations.
- Landlord Entry – Idaho’s laws do not establish a landlord’s right to entry. As such, all entry standards of this kind must derive from an applicable lease agreement. This includes entry standards in emergency situations.
- Settling Legal Disputes – Idaho allows landlords and tenants to resolve recent disputes (within 4 or 5 years for oral and written contracts, respectively) in the state’s small claims court. Eviction cases are not heard here, but other cases valued at up to $5,000 are.
To learn more about landlord tenant laws in Idaho, click here.