In Idaho, the regulation of rent is primarily governed by ID Stat. § 55-307. This state preempts rent control. This law bans rent control throughout the state, allowing all landlords to set rent and increase it with proper notice.
|Minimum Notice for Rent Increases||30 Days|
|Max. Late Fee||No Statute|
|Max. Bounced Check Fee||$20 or 12% of rent payment.|
When Can a Landlord Increase Rent in Idaho?
When there is a written lease, the landlord may not increase rent until the lease has ended; unless there are lease provisions that allow a landlord to do so.
When Is It Illegal to Raise Rent in Idaho?
According to the Federal Fair Housing Act, it is illegal for a landlord to raise rent based on the age, race, gender, nation of origin, familial status, or disability status of a tenant.
It is also illegal for a landlord to raise rent in retaliation for a tenant exercising his/her tenant rights.
Is There a Rent Increase Limit in Idaho?
Idaho does not regulate the amount of rent increases.
How Much Notice Is Needed for Raising Rent in Idaho?
When dealing with a month-to-month tenant, a landlord must provide the tenant with a 30-Day Notice before increasing rent. (Idaho Statute § 55-307)
For a FREE rent increase notice template, click here.
How Often Can Rent Be Increased in Idaho?
Idaho does not regulate the frequency with which rent can be increased.
Laws Regarding Late Fees in Idaho
Idaho does not have any statutes that limit late fee charges. Late fee charges must be in the lease agreement.
Laws Regarding Bounced Check Fees in Idaho
An Idaho landlord may seek the lesser of $20 or 12% of a rent payment returned for insufficient funds. (Idaho Statute § 28-22-105)
Idaho Cities With Rent Control
Idaho doesn’t impose rent control laws for private residential property. A local government shall not enact, maintain or enforce rules on controlling rent. (Idaho Statute § 55-307 (2))