The Wyoming rental agreements are legal documents created between the landlord of real property and the tenant who will use it. These contracts describe the property to be used in exchange for regular payments (“rent”), as well as the responsibilities of both parties. Agreements must comply with Wyoming’s landlord-tenant law.
Wyoming Rental Agreement Types
Wyoming Required Lease Disclosures
- Refundable/Nonrefundable Fees (required for some) – Any unrefundable fees that are to be imposed during the lease must be disclosed in the Wyoming lease agreement to be enforced in court (if challenged).
- Lead Based Paint Disclosure (required for some) – A Wyoming residential lease agreement must include a lead based paint disclosure that provides an EPA-approved pamphlet and any information relating to current hazards in a pre-1978 property so that the landlord can limit liability for damages caused by the paint.
To learn more about required disclosures in Wyoming, click here.
Wyoming Landlord Tenant Laws
- Warranty of Habitability – Current Wyoming laws only require a landlord to provide their tenant with safe electric outlets, running water, heating, and plumbing. When it comes to repairs, a Wyoming landlord is fairly free to set their own timeframe when responding to a repair request. Wyoming tenants, meanwhile, do not have the option to withhold rent or perform a repair and deduct if these duties are not met.
- Evictions – For the purpose of evicting a tenant for non-payment of rent, violating a lease term, or committing a crime, a Wyoming landlord must always issue a 3-day notice. As a result, they can typically wrap up an eviction in just a couple days.
- Security Deposits – Wyoming does not maintain a maximum amount that a landlord can charge for a security deposit. Despite that, it does maintain a requirement that all collected security deposits be returned to their tenant within 30 days of their lease closing.
- Lease Termination – Wyoming does not require tenants to issue any notice before terminating a month-to-month lease. However, a fixed-term tenant may still need to request termination for one of the following causes: active military duty, unit uninhabitability, domestic violence, or landlord harassment.
- Rent Increases & Fees – Wyoming landlords may raise rent rates as much as they want without regards to a statewide standard. In the same vein, these landlords are not required to issue any notice prior to an increase taking effect. As for fees, these landlords may charge almost any (even if they aren’t stated in the lease). Only returned check fees are notably limited to $30 in value.
- Landlord Entry – A Wyoming landlord may enter a tenant’s dwelling without permission or notice by default due to a lack of statewide entry requirements. This includes emergency situations, though both kinds of entry can be limited in an applicable lease agreement.
- Settling Legal Disputes – Landlord-tenant disputes in Wyoming may be heard in the state’s small claims courts. However, these disputes must be limited in value to less than $6,000. These claims also cannot be related to evictions, which are heard in the state’s circuit courts.
To learn more about landlord tenant laws in Wyoming, click here.