Grab our free sample or generate an official Wyoming lease agreement for residential use. Read further about required disclosures in Wyoming, optional addendums for things like pets, and what Wyoming landlord tenant laws apply to residential lease agreements.
Lease Agreement Sample
Click here to view/download the direct PDF file.
Here are some important requirements under Wyoming law for residential lease agreements.
Security Deposits in Wyoming
Wyoming law does not restrict the amount of security deposit that can be charged by a landlord. However, if any portion of the security deposit is not refundable this should be clearly stated in the lease agreement (WY Stat § 1-21-1207 (2018)).
When a tenant moves out, a landlord is required make an itemized list of deductions from the security deposit, if any, and return the balance of the security deposit within 30 days of the termination of the lease or within 15 days of the tenant notifying the landlord of the tenant’s new address, whichever one of these dates is later. If there is damage to the rental unit, this period is extended by 30 days (WY Stat § 1-21-1208 (a) (2018)).
If the damages exceed the security deposit, the tenant shall remain liable for the excessive amount plus ten percent annual interest on the amount due (WY Stat § 1-21-1211 (2018)).
If the landlord holds money separately for the payment of utilities, then the landlord shall refund the utility deposit to the tenant within 10 days of the tenant satisfactorily showing the landlord that the utilities have been paid. If the tenant does not show this payment to the landlord within 45 days, then the landlord may, within 15 days thereafter, use this deposit to pay any remaining utilities. Then, the landlord must refund the difference to the tenant, if any, within seven days after the utilities have been paid or within 15 days of the tenant notifying the landlord of the tenant’s new address, whichever one of these dates is later (WY Stat § 1-21-1208 (b) (2018)).
If a landlord unreasonably fails to comply with these requirements, the tenant may be awarded the full deposit plus court costs (WY Stat § 1-21-1208 (c) (2018)).
Breaking a Lease in Wyoming
A tenant may break a lease if the rental unit is not habitable and the landlord chooses or refuses to make the necessary repairs within 30 days after being notified by the tenant in writing (WY Stat § 1-21-1203 (2018)).
The Servicemembers’ Civil Relief Act (“SCRA”) allows a tenant to break a lease early, without penalty, by giving the landlord a 30-day notice, which starts after the next rent is due, if the tenant is called up for military duty (50 U.S.C. app. §§ 501).
Victims of domestic violence are allowed to terminate a lease early, without penalty, by giving the landlord a seven-day notice (WY Stat § 1-21-1303 (2018)).
If a landlord takes actions to constructively evict a tenant, by using illegal “self-help eviction” methods, such as turning off utilities, changing locks, etc. then, the tenant can break the lease. Other forms of harassment and privacy violations by a landlord may be seen by the court as a good legal cause to break a lease.
If a tenant breaks a lease, without sufficient legal cause, the landlord has no legal obligation to try to re-rent the unit. The tenant may still be held liable for any remaining rent that is due on the lease agreement.
Eviction Process in Wyoming
A landlord must give the tenant proper notice before an eviction proceeding can be filed with the court. A landlord in Wyoming can evict a tent for non-payment of rent, a material lease violation, for causing significant damage to the rental property, and if the lease terminates. If the tenant is on a month-to-month rental agreement, a landlord may evict a tenant with or without cause by giving 30 days prior notice.
Eviction cannot be used as a form of retaliation. For example, eviction cannot be used to harm a tent, if a tenant complains to the health department about a property’s unsanitary condition.