- Rent Control / Increase Limitations. Wyoming state landlords can raise rent anytime.
- Notice Required to Raise Rent. For month-to-month tenancies, Wyoming landlords must provide 30 days notice from next rent due date.
- Bounced Check Fees. Wyoming state landlords may charge up to $30 for bounced checks.
When Can a Landlord Increase Rent?
A Wyoming landlord must abide by the written rental agreement. However, a landlord may increase rent at any time on a month-to-month tenant.
When is it illegal to raise rent?
It is illegal for a Wyoming landlord to raise rent based on the age, race, religion, nation or origin, familial status, or disability status of a tenant (Fair Housing Act).
Is there a rent increase limit?
Wyoming does not legislate that amount of rent a landlord may charge.
How Much Notice is Needed for Raising Rent?
Although the state provides no legislation regarding notices for rent increases, when seeking to increase rent on a month-to-month tenant, a Wyoming landlord is advised to provide a 30-Day Notice before increased rent is expected.
How Often Can Rent Be Increased?
Wyoming does not legislate the frequency with which a landlord may increase rent.
Laws Regarding Late Fees
Wyoming does not legislate the amount that a landlord may charge in late fees. However, a landlord is required to disclose information regarding late fees in the written lease.
Laws Regarding Bounced Check fees
A Wyoming landlord may charge a tenant up to $30 when a check is returned for insufficient funds (Wyoming Statute 1-1-115(b)).
Cities in the State With Rent Control
Wyoming has no legislation regarding rent control.