The Colorado rental agreements are contracts established between a landlord and a tenant who will use a rental property in exchange for regular rent payments (usually monthly). These contracts establish the rules, terms, and conditions for the property, and must comply with Colorado’s landlord-tenant law.
Colorado Rental Agreement Types
The Colorado residential lease agreement ("rental agreement") outlines the conditions set by a landlord and a tenant for the purpose of renting residential real estate. The contract will include the period of the agreement ("term"), the payment amount ("rent"), and the obligations of the tenant while leasing the property.
The Colorado sublease agreement allows a tenant ("sublessor") to rent, or sublet, part of the rental property to a new tenant (“sublessee”). Under this contract, the sublessee must make regular, periodic payments towards the initial tenant’s rental amount in exchange for use of all (or part) of the property.
The Colorado roommate agreement (“room rental agreement”) is a document that all co-tenants in a roommate or shared residential situation must sign. This contract lays out the responsibilities of each roommate, including financial expectations, terms, and other rules associated with sharing the space.
The Colorado commercial lease agreement is a contract used by a business to rent office or retail spaces. This written document establishes the relationship between a landlord and a tenant or business and describes the terms and conditions associated with renting commercial spaces.
Common Rental Agreements in Colorado
- Boulder, Colorado Model Lease Agreement – this template, provided by the City of Boulder is heavily used by residential dwelling units throughout Boulder, Colorado. It provides an extensive list of rules and procedures, including specifics that go as far as outlining noise ordinances and bear-resistant containers.
Colorado Required Lease Disclosures
- Lead-Based Paint Disclosures (required for some) – Any Colorado building built before 1978 must include a lead-based paint disclosure form that has an EPA-approved pamphlet and record of any known lead paint hazard to avoid liability in case of lead paint poisoning.
To learn more about required disclosures in Colorado, click here.
Colorado Landlord Tenant Laws
- Warranty of Habitability – Colorado landlords must provide plumbing, running water, heating, electricity and more. Any repairs made to these amenities must be addressed within 24 hours to 96 hours to respond to the repair request and make the repair. If the repair is not made the tenant may withhold rent. Or if the dwelling is a single-family home, the tenant may use the repair and deduct method.
- Evictions – Colorado landlords may evict tenants for a number of reasons including, but not limited to failure to pay rent, a violation of a leasing term, or the committing of an illegal act. Landlords must provide tenants with prior notice to pay, comply or quit, depending on the type of eviction.
- Security Deposits – There is no limit on the amount of security deposit Colorado landlords can demand. For a mobile home space in a mobile home park, the limit is one month’s rent, or two months’ rent if the mobile home is a multi-wide unit.
- Lease Termination – A lease in Colorado can be legally terminated if a tenant provides proof of their active military duty, harassed by their landlord, proof of a gas leak, harm caused by living in an “uninhabitable”, and more. The amount of notice required to provide to the landlord depends on the rent payment frequency.
- Rent Increases & Fees – Colorado landlords are free to raise rent whenever and without limitation. Colorado landlords cannot charge more than $50 or 5% of the past due rent payment. The late fee shall only be imposed once, and late payments can only be collected by the seventh calendar day that rent has not been collected.
- Landlord Entry – Unless addressed in the lease agreement or stated in the written notice, tenants are not required to give landlords access to the property.
- Settling Legal Disputes – In Colorado, a landlord-tenant dispute valued at $7,500 or less can be heard in small claims court. Eviction cases, however, are handled by the state’s civil courts.
To learn more about landlord tenant laws in Colorado, click here.