Utah Eviction Notice Forms

Last Updated: January 4, 2022 by Elizabeth Souza

A Utah eviction notice form for nonpayment of rent is a written document that states a tenant has 3 days to pay the rent or vacate the premises. Additionally, there are other notice forms for other possible grounds for eviction in Utah.

Types of Eviction Notices

Each possible ground for eviction has its own notice type. Some notices allow the tenant to fix (“cure”) the issue and continue the tenancy, while others simply state an amount of time to vacate by.

Grounds Time Curable?
Unpaid Rent 3-Day Yes
Lease Violation 3-Day Yes
Lease Termination 5/15-Day No
Sublease 3-Day Yes
Illegal Activity 3-Day No

3-Day Notice to Pay (Nonpayment of Rent)

A landlord is allowed to evict a tenant for failing to pay rent on time.

According to Utah law, rent is considered late the day after it’s due; grace periods, if any, are addressed in the lease or rental agreement.

Once rent is past due, the landlord must provide tenants with a 3-Day Notice to Pay if the landlord wants to file an eviction action with the court. This notice gives the tenant the option to pay the past due amount in full within 3 days to avoid eviction.

If the tenant does not pay the rent due by the end of the notice period and remains on the property, the landlord may proceed with the eviction process.

The eviction notice for nonpayment of rent should include the total amount of past-due rent owed.

Get the downloadable 3-Day Eviction Notice for Nonpayment of Rent form template below (.pdf direct link).

3-Day Notice to Cure or Vacate (Non-Compliance)

A tenant can be evicted in Utah if they do not uphold their responsibilities under the terms of a written lease/rental agreement.

Utah landlords must provide tenants with a 3-Day Notice to Comply, giving the tenant 3 days to correct the issue to avoid eviction.

Typical lease violations under this category could include things like damaging the rental property, having too many people residing in the rental unit, and having a pet when there’s a no-pet policy.

Note that illegal activity is not included in this category.

If the tenant fails to correct the issue after the notice period expires, the landlord may proceed with the eviction process.

The notice should include:

  • The specific lease violation(s); and
  • The date the lease will terminate if the tenant doesn’t comply within the deadline.

Get the downloadable 3-Day Eviction Notice for Noncompliance form template below (.pdf direct link).

5/15-Day Lease Termination Notice (No Lease/ End of Lease)

In the state of Utah, if tenants “hold over,” or stay in the rental unit after the rental term has expired, then the landlord must give tenants notice before evicting them. This can include tenants without a written lease and week-to-week and month-to-month tenants.

Often this type of eviction applies to tenants who are at the end of their lease and the landlord doesn’t want to renew.

The amount of time required in the notice depends on the type of tenancy.

  • Month-to-Month – If rent is paid on a month-to-month basis, a landlord must provide the tenant with a 15-Day Notice to Quit.
  • At-Will Tenants – If the tenancy is at-will, landlords must provide tenants with a 5-Day Notice to Quit.

If the tenant remains on the property after the notice period expires, the landlord may proceed with the eviction process.

The notice should include the date the tenancy will terminate.

Get the downloadable 5/15-Day Lease Termination Notice form template below (.pdf direct link).

3-Day Notice to Cure or Vacate (Subleasing Rental Unit)

If the tenant’s lease or rental agreement specifically prohibits subleasing, and the tenant subleases the rental unit anyway, the landlord may evict the original tenant after giving them 3 days’ written notice.

If the original tenant doesn’t correct the issue before the notice period expires, the landlord may continue with the eviction process.

The notice should include the date the tenancy will terminate.

Get the downloadable 3-Day Eviction Notice for Subleasing Rental Unit form template below (.pdf direct link).

3-Day Notice to Quit (Committing Waste)

If tenants commit waste in or on the rental property, they must be given 3 days’ written notice notice before the landlord can move forward with the eviction process. The tenant has three calendars to vacate the rental property.

If the tenant remains on the property after the notice period expires, the landlord may proceed with the eviction process.

The notice should include the date the tenancy will terminate.

Get the downloadable 3-Day Eviction Notice for Committing Waste form template below (.pdf direct link).

3-Day Notice to Quit (Illegal Activity)

Tenants who are involved in illegal activity must be given 3 days’ notice before the landlord can proceed with an eviction action.

In Utah, illegal activity includes: 

  • Setting up or carrying on an illegal business;
  • Suffering, permitting, maintaining a “nuisance” on the rental property; or
  • Committing a “criminal act” on the rental property.

Nuisances include the following:

  • Unlawful sale, manufacture, service, storage, distribution, dispensing or acquisition of a controlled substance;
  • Gambling;
  • Prostitution;
  • Criminal activity carried out by two or more people working together;
  • Criminal activity done for or on behalf of a criminal street gang;
  • Criminal activity done to gain status or credibility with a criminal street gang; or
  • Weapons violations.

Finally, criminal activity includes:

  • A felony act;
  • Criminal acts that affect the health and safety of the landlord or other tenants;
  • Activity that damages the landlord’s or other tenants’ property;
  • Criminal drug activity;
  • Criminal gang activity; or
  • Violence or threat of violence against landlord or other tenants.

If the tenant remains on the property after the notice period expires, the landlord may proceed with the eviction process.

The notice should include the date the tenancy will terminate.

Get the downloadable 3-Day Eviction Notice for Illegal Activity form template below (.pdf direct link).

What to Include in Utah Eviction Notices

The information required on Utah eviction notices varies depending on the reason for the eviction and is addressed under each notice type below. However, for all notices, it’s a good idea to include:

  • The date the tenancy will terminate;
  • The reason for the eviction; and
  • The tenant’s name and contact information.

The landlord will also want to get the tenant’s signature confirming that they received the eviction notice, if the notice was hand-delivered.

In addition, the landlord should keep the receipt number if the notice was delivered by certified or registered mail.

Delivering Eviction Notices in Utah

In the state of Utah, landlords can deliver an eviction notice through the following methods:

  • Giving it to the tenant in person;
  • Mailing a copy to the tenant via certified/registered mail;
  • Leaving the notice with someone of suitable age and discretion if the tenant cannot be found; or
  • Posting a copy of the notice in a conspicuous place at the rental unit if the tenant cannot be found and there is no suitable person to give the notice to.

Note that using certified or registered mail is only one option under Utah law.

Eviction Process in Utah

  1. An eviction notice is posted by the landlord to vacate or “cure” the issue.
  2. If uncured and tenant remains, the complaint is filed and served.
  3. An answer is filed.
  4. An occupancy hearing is held.
  5. An eviction trial is held and judgment issued.
  6. If an eviction is granted, an Order for Restitution, is posted at the property, giving final notice to the tenant to remove their belongings.
  7. Finally, the sheriff returns possession of the property to the landlord.

To learn more about the eviction process in Utah, click here.

Sources