Get your FREE Nebraska month-to-month residential lease agreement form template and learn more about Michigan-specific disclosures and laws.
Click here to view/download the direct PDF file.
What is a Nebraska Month-to-Month Lease?
A month-to-month rental, which is also called an at-will lease, has a flexible structure that can be useful to certain types of tenants and landlords. For example, a tenant that is only going to be in an area for a certain period is going to not want to sign up for a fixed-term lease because they may not be living in the area for the full six months to a year that is common with a lease like this. Also, some landlords may only want to rent to individuals during certain times of the year, so a month-to-month lease, which can have a variable term, will be useful. These leases typically also have a one-month duration and renew at the next month, so this leaves landlords freedom to raise rents more frequently.
Nebraska Notice Requirements for Month-to-Month Lease Termination
These leases are definitely easier to terminate than fixed-term leases, and the state of Nebraska permits both the tenant and the landlord to only provide about a month’s worth of notification before terminating the lease. The only exception to this rule is in the case of tenants over the age of 60. In these cases, the tenant is granted a two-month period of 60 days to vacate the premises. Both of these notification periods are designed to ease the hardship of the opposing party by giving them time to find new dwellings or time to find new tenants.
Raising Rent in Nebraska
When it comes to raising the rent for a month-to-month tenancy, typically, the landlord has a lot of leeway. For example, unlike a fixed-term lease where a lessor must wait until the end of the lease to raise the rent, the landlord in a month-to-month may raise the rent as long as he or she provides notice in writing at least 30 days before the next rent payment is due to be paid.