The Arkansas rental agreements are contracts that contain the terms between a landlord and a tenant for the use of real property. These documents will contain rules associated with the rental, including how much rent is due and other terms and conditions that each party must abide by.
Arkansas Rental Agreement Types
The Arkansas residential lease agreement ("rental agreement") is used to formalize an agreement between a landlord and a tenant to lease residential property in exchange for rent payments. Once the agreement is signed, the document becomes legally binding for both parties. Related Documents: Month-to-Month Agreement | Rental Application | Roommate Agreement |…
The Arkansas month-to-month rental agreement or “tenancy at will,” allows a tenant to pay a monthly rent to a landlord for the use of their real property. This document has no end date but enables either party to alter or terminate the agreement monthly. With a standard lease, there is typically a…
The Arkansas rental application form is a document that landlords send out to a prospective tenant to determine whether they are a viable tenant or not. The information requested relates to rental history, eviction history, and financial information and is used for background screening purposes. QUICK INFO Application Fee - in Arkansas,…
The Arkansas sublease agreement is a contract that allows a tenant to rent (“sublease”) all or part of the rental to a new tenant. In exchange, the new tenant (sublessee) makes regular, periodic payments that relieve some (or all) of the original tenant’s rental obligation. In the state of Arkansas, some tenants…
The Arkansas roommate agreement (“room rental agreement”) is a contract between tenants sharing the same rental property. This document outlines the financial responsibilities of each co-tenant, as well as the rules, terms, and conditions of sharing the space. All co-tenants must sign the contract to comply with Arkansas state law. This type…
The Arkansas commercial lease agreement establishes the relationship between a landlord and tenant or business. This contract outlines the responsibilities, terms, and conditions associated with renting office space, retail stores, or other commercial spaces. This type of lease can only be used by a business or commercial entity. Arkansas Commercial Landlord/ Tenant…
Arkansas Required Lease Disclosures
- Lead Based Paint Disclosures (required for some) – To protect potential tenants, the risks posed by lead based paints in a rental unit must be disclosed nationally in any building built before 1978, including Arkansas, in the form of an EPA-approved pamphlet, a disclosure addendum, and record of any known hazard.
To learn more about required disclosures in Arkansas, click here.
Arkansas Landlord Tenant Laws
- Warranty of Habitability – Arkansas landlords provide their properties “as is.” As such, they are not obliged to provide any certain type of amenity or repair unless it is outlined in a lease agreement. Arkansas also does not require landlords to perform requested repairs in any set amount of time.
- Evictions – An Arkansas landlord may evict their tenant for committing an illegal act (3 day notice), failing to pay rent (5 day notice), or violating a lease term (14 day notice). This full eviction process can take just a week or up to a month in practice.
- Security Deposits – A security deposit in Arkansas cannot be valued at more than twice the price of rent. An Arkansas landlord has 60 days to return these collected deposits at the conclusion of a lease and must wait 180 days before claiming them as their own.
- Lease Termination – An Arkansas landlord may terminate a month-to-month lease only after providing 30 days of advance notice. Meanwhile, a fixed-term lease can only be broken by a tenant if they provide proof of active military duty or can show evidence that their space is “uninhabitable.”
- Rent Increases & Fees – Arkansas neither limits how much a rent rate can be increased by nor how often such increases can occur. These standards, along with the cost and type of certain fees (such as late fees) must be outlined in a lease.
- Landlord Entry – Arkansas landlords are allowed to enter a tenant’s dwelling for any reason and without notice. Any standards of this kind in Arkansas must come from a lease agreement.
- Settling Legal Disputes – The Arkansas Attorney General’s office allows landlords and tenants to settle disputes valued up to $5,000 in small claims court. Eviction cases are not handled in this venue, nor are cases that exceed the 5-year statute of limitations.
To learn more about landlord tenant laws in Arkansas, click here.