An Arkansas month-to-month lease agreement is a contract (written or oral) that allows a tenant to rent property from a landlord, in exchange for a fee (“rent”), for a period of thirty days at a time. The agreement remains active until either party gives proper notice to end it.
Note: For fixed term leases in Arkansas (i.e., 1-year), click here.
How do Arkansas Month-to-Month Lease Agreements Work?
A landlord and tenant can enter into a month-to-month lease through a written contract or oral agreement. It does not have to be written.
Once the lease is active, both parties are given full rights under Arkansas landlord tenant law. This includes the landlord’s responsibility to provide a living space, the tenant’s responsibility to pay rent in a timely manner and all other rights and responsibilities.
How Much Notice is Needed to End the Lease?
In Arkansas, either party may terminate a month-to-month lease agreement by giving at least 30 days’ notice. AR Code § 18-17-704
Notice must be provided in written form.
How Much Notice is Needed to Raise the Rent?
Unlike most states, Arkansas doesn’t have communities with rent control, so state law doesn’t provide a limit on how much a landlord can raise the rent for a tenant. This means that the landlord can raise a month-to-month tenant’s rent by whatever value they choose. Additionally, Arkansas doesn’t have a statute regarding prior notice for rent raises on month-to-month tenancies.
Are There Notice Delivery Requirements?
In Arkansas there are notice delivery requirements. In the case of the landlord, notice must be delivered to the place of business where the lease agreement was made or a place that is designated by the landlord as the place for receipt of communication.
In the case of the tenant, the notice must be delivered in person or by mail through registered or certified mail to the tenant at their place for receipt of communication or their last known residence. AR Code § 18-17-303.
How are Month-to-Month Tenants Evicted in Arkansas?
After the landlord gives proper notice, and that period of time elapses, the lease expires and is no longer active.
If a tenant remains on the property after lease expiry, the landlord may move forward with the eviction process to remove the tenant by filing a complaint with the applicable county court in Arkansas. The process for eviction can be completed in six to eight weeks but can take longer depending on the circumstances.
For more information on the eviction process in Arkansas, click here.