In Arkansas, the regulation of rent is primarily governed by AR Code §14-16-601. This law bans rent control throughout the state, allowing all landlords to set rent and increase it (with proper notice).
|Rent Control||None (State Ban)|
|Minimum Notice for Rent Increases||No Statute|
|Max. Late Fee||No Statute|
|Max. Bounced Check Fee||$30 + Fees|
When Can a Landlord Increase Rent in Arkansas?
In the state of Arkansas, a landlord may not increase rent during the term of a lease, unless the lease allows them to do so.
A landlord may increase rent if the tenant is “at-will” (i.e., month-to-month, week-to-week, etc.) by providing a minimum notice of one rental period prior to increasing the amount of rent. (Ark. Code Ann. § 18-17-704(b))
When Is It Illegal to Raise Rent in Arkansas?
According to the Fair Housing Act, it is illegal for an Arkansas landlord to increase rent based on the sex, race, religion, nation of origin, familial status, or disability status of the tenant.
Is There a Rent Increase Limit in Arkansas?
There is no statue on a rent increase limit.
How Much Notice Is Needed for Raising Rent in Arkansas?
There is no specific statute regarding prior notice for rent raises. However, a minimum notice of one rental period before an increase in rent is common practice. This means that a month-to-month tenant should be provided with a 30-Day Notice.
For a FREE rent increase notice template, click here.
How Often Can Rent Be Increased in Arkansas?
Arkansas provides no statue regarding the limit to the frequency with which rent can increase.
Laws Regarding Late Fees in Arkansas
Arkansas does not have any specified laws regarding late fees for rental property. However, a landlord may not charge fees for late rent unless this information is in the lease or agreed upon by both parties.
Laws Regarding Bounced Check Fees in Arkansas
An Arkansas landlord may charge a tenant a fee of $30, plus the amount of fees charged by the landlord’s bank as a result of the rental check not being honored, when a check is returned for insufficient funds. (Ark. Stat. § 5-37-303)
Arkansas Cities With Rent Control
The state of Arkansas does not allow local municipalities, counties, cities, villages or township from enacting, enforcing, or maintaining any ordinances designed to control the amount of rent a landlord may charge for rent on private residential property. (AR Code § 14-16-601)