Rent Increases & Fees in Kansas

Rent Increases & Fees in Kansas

Last Updated: April 28, 2022 by Elizabeth Souza

In Kansas, the regulation of rent is primarily governed by KS Stat § 12-16,120. This state prohibits rent control. This law bans rent control throughout the state, allowing all landlords to set rent and increase it (with proper notice).

Quick Facts
Rent Control None
Minimum Notice for Rent Increases No Statute
Max. Late Fee No Statute
Max. Bounced Check Fee $30

When Can a Landlord Increase Rent in Kansas?

A Kansas landlord may not increase rent during a fixed-term lease. A landlord can increase rent at renewal time, or a landlord may increase the rent on an “at-will” tenant by providing the appropriate advanced notice.

Questions? To chat with a Kansas landlord tenant attorney, Click here

When Is It Illegal to Raise Rent in Kansas?

It is illegal for a landlord to increase rent on a tenant in retaliation for exercising his/her tenant rights (KSA 58-2572(c)).

Rent can be increased and is not considered to be in retaliation as long as it does not conflict with a lease agreement and is made in “good faith” to compensate the landlord for expenses that they have incurred due to: (KSA 58-25,125)

  • A result of acts of God.
  • Public utility service rate increase.
  • Property tax increase.
  • Other increases in costs of operations.

According to the Federal Fair Housing Act, it is illegal for a Kansas landlord to raise rent based on the age, race, religion, nation or origin, familial status, or disability status of a tenant.

Is There a Rent Increase Limit in Kansas?

Kansas does not regulate the amount that a landlord can increase rent.

How Much Notice Is Needed for Raising Rent in Kansas?

There are no notice requirements that a Kansas landlord must provide to a tenant for a rent increase; however, a minimum 30-Day Notice is recommended.  A 60-Day Notice is required for mobile home parks in writing to increase rent. (KSA 58-25,109(f))

For a FREE rent increase notice template, click here.

How Often Can Rent Be Increased in Kansas?

Kansas does not legislate how often a landlord can increase rent.

Laws Regarding Late Fees in Kansas

Kansas does not regulate late fees. Late fee information must be in the lease agreement. If a landlord wants to charge late fees after the end of a lease and they are not written in the lease, he/she must provide a 30-day Notice.

Laws Regarding Bounced Check Fees in Kansas

A Kansas landlord may charge up to $30 for payment returned for insufficient funds. (Kansas Bounced Check Fees)

Kansas Cities With Rent Control

Kansas legislation preempts rent control.