The Vermont rental agreements are real estate contracts written between a landlord and a tenant seeking to use a property in exchange for regular payments (“rent”). Terms and conditions must meet Vermont’s landlord-tenant law and cannot supersede Vermont’s state laws.
Vermont Rental Agreement Types
Vermont Required Lease Disclosures
- Lead Based Paint Disclosure (required for some) – To protect the landlord from legal damages resulting from exposure, any Vermont rental unit built before 1978 must include a lead based paint disclosure and EPA-approved pamphlet with notice of any existing lead paint hazards.
To learn more about required disclosures in Vermont, click here.
Vermont Landlord Tenant Laws
- Warranty of Habitability – Vermont requires its landlords to provide tenants with numerous amenities, including running water, in-unit heating, plumbing, garbage receptacles, and more. Upon request, a Vermont landlord must repair any essential amenity within 30 days. At that point, an effected tenant may withhold rent until the repair is made.
- Evictions – A Vermont landlord may evict a tenant for violating a lease term (30-day notice), failing to pay rent (30-day notice), or committing an applicable crime (14-day notice). As such, most Vermont evictions take at least two weeks to a month to complete.
- Security Deposits – Vermont landlords are free to charge as much as they want for security deposits due to a lack of statewide limit. However, any funds held as a security deposit must be returned within 14 days of a lease’s conclusion.
- Lease Termination – Vermont law allows month-to-month leases to be terminated once the tenant issues a 30-day notice of their intent to terminate. Similarly, a notice of intent to terminate a fixed-term lease may be honored by a Vermont landlord if it is accompanied by proof of one of the following: landlord harassment, unit uninhabitability, or active military duty.
- Rent Increases & Fees – Vermont law currently allows landlords to raise rent as much and as often as they’d like. However, those same laws require 60 days of notice to be issued before an increase goes into effect. As for fees, Vermont allows landlords to charge most any kind that they wish as long as the amount is a “realistic compensation” for the landlord’s services.
- Landlord Entry – Vermont landlords may only enter a tenant’s unit between 9 AM and 9 PM. Also, they must always provide at least 48 hours of advance notice prior to that entry. These standards do not generally apply in emergency situations, however.
- Settling Legal Disputes – Vermont’s small claims courts are fairly limited when it comes to resolving landlord-tenant disputes. In fact, these courts don’t accept eviction cases. What’s more, they only accept cases valued at up to $5,000.
To learn more about landlord tenant laws in Vermont, click here.