Grab our free sample or generate an official Vermont lease agreement for residential use. Read further about required disclosures in Vermont, optional addendums for things like pets, and what Vermont landlord tenant laws apply to residential lease agreements.
Lease Agreement Sample
Click here to view/download the direct PDF file.
Security Deposits in Vermont
In the state of Vermont, there is no statute that will limit the security deposit that a landlord can charge. With this being said, the amount that a landlord will charge for this is typically not going to be more than a month or two. This deposit can be used to make repairs on the unit when the tenant moves out. If there are no extensive repairs required, the landlord must return the deposit within 14 days. If any deductions have been made, a written list of all of the deductions and their costs must be included. If the landlord fails to return the deposit within 14 days, they forfeit their right to withhold any of the deposit, and they may be liable to pay twice the amount of the original security deposit.
Breaking a Lease in Vermont
Any time that a tenant needs to break their rental agreement, they will face a penalty that could include paying the rent for the remainder of the rental term, paying an additional fee, or losing their security deposit. It will not be something that is accepted in the rental community either, so finding a new rental may be difficult. However, there are a few reasons that the tenant will be able to break the lease without facing these consequences. If the tenant is in the active military service, the unit is uninhabitable, or the landlord has violated the privacy rights of the tenant, they will be able to justifiably break the lease.
Eviction Process in Vermont
The first step for any eviction in Vermont is for the landlord to send the proper eviction notice to the tenant when they are breaching the terms of the rental contract. If the tenant fails to respond to the notice that they receive, then the landlord can proceed with the eviction proceedings by taking the case to the court in the county where the property is located. Here, they will need to file a Summons and Complaint, which will be served to the tenant, and they will have 20 days to answer the summons. At this point, the judge will make a ruling for the case, and the tenant may be required to vacate the premises.