The New Hampshire rental agreements are documents created when a tenant wishes to use a real property overseen by a landlord or the property owner. These contracts establish the amount of the rent, frequency of rent payments, and the duration of the tenancy.
New Hampshire Rental Agreement Types
New Hampshire Required Lease Disclosures
- Move-in Checklist (required for some) – When charging a security deposit, New Hampshire landlords must provide a move-in checklist for the property that outlines existing damages, and once completed the tenant must sign off on the conditions that may be used during move-out to recoup a security deposit.
- Security Deposit Holdings Disclosure (required for some) – Landlords in New Hampshire must provide the holding information for any security deposits charged to tenants, including the holding institution and account number so that the tenant may ensure the deposit is being handled correctly in the case of a breach of contract.
- Lead Based Paint Disclosure (required for some) – Any New Hampshire pre-1978 building with units for rent must include a lead based paint disclosure in the lease, including an EPA pamphlet on the hazards of lead paint and notice of any existing hazards on the property as a safety warning for new tenants who are at risk of exposure.
To learn more about required disclosures in New Hampshire, click here.
New Hampshire Landlord Tenant Laws
- Warranty of Habitability – New Hampshire’s health code requires landlords to provide plumbing, safe electric outlets, running water, gas lines, in-unit heating, and more. If these amenities require repairs, the landlord must supply repair services within 14 days. If repairs are not made, a tenant may withhold rent, but they may not use the repair and deduct method.
- Evictions –New Hampshire landlords may evict tenants for a number of reasons including, but not limited to failure to pay rent, a violation of a leasing term, property damage, failing to accept temporary relocation, failure to prepare rental unit for treatment, or committing an illegal act. Landlords must provide tenants with prior notice to quit, and the notice period depends on the type of eviction. Most evictions take 1 week to a 1 month (or more) to complete.
- Security Deposits – A New Hampshire landlord may charge $100 or no more than 1 month’s rent. It’s important to note that there are exceptions to this security deposit law. The remaining funds of the security deposit must be returned within 30 days of the end of tenancy.
- Lease Termination – 30 days of notice must be provided for a New Hampshire tenant to terminate their month-to-month lease legally. A similar early termination may be given to a fixed-term tenant who supplies one of the following exclusions: active military duty, domestic violence landlord harassment, unit uninhabitability, etc.
- Rent Increases & Fees – New Hampshire landlords are free to raise rent as much as they want, for any reason. However, they are still required to provide notice of increases 30 days before they take effect. These landlords are also free to charge almost any fee including bounced check fees.
- Landlord Entry – A New Hampshire landlord must always receive permission before entering a tenant’s dwelling, except for emergency situations. The law does not outline a notice period for landlord entry.
- Settling Legal Disputes – Landlords and tenants in New Hampshire that need a dispute mediated can do so in small claims court. These courts accept most cases valued at up to $10,000, but do not include eviction cases. Cases must also fit within the 3-year statute of limitations.
To learn more about landlord tenant laws in New Hampshire, click here.