The Alabama rental agreements are legal contracts made between a landlord and a tenant. This document binds them into a landlord-tenant relationship, where the tenant makes regular rent payments (usually monthly) in exchange for use of the property. All agreements should follow the Alabama landlord-tenant laws.
The Alabama residential lease agreement (“rental agreement”) is a binding contract that describes the terms and conditions of the residential use of real estate in exchange for rent payments. This contract may require an additional fee (“security deposit”) payable on or before the move-in date. Create an official Alabama standard residential lease…
The Alabama month-to-month rental agreement allows a tenant to pay a monthly fee (“rent”) from a landlord for one month at a time with no end date. The landlord will collect a security deposit to ensure that rent will be paid and the responsibilities of the agreement are performed. The Alabama Code…
The Alabama rental application form is a document that landlords send out to a prospective tenant to determine whether they are a viable tenant or not. The information requested relates to rental history, eviction history, and financial information and is used for background screening purposes. QUICK INFO Application Fee - in Alabama,…
The Alabama sublease agreement is a legal contract that allows tenants to rent (“sublease”) all (or a portion) of their rental property in exchange for regular payments. The original tenant, or sublessor, must have the landlord’s permission to sublet the property. Sublessor's Responsibilities Under a Sublease One reason why people wish to…
The Alabama roommate agreement (“room rental agreement”) is a contract between two or more tenants sharing the same rental property. This document outlines the financial responsibilities of each co-tenant and the rules associated with the shared space. Sharing a place with a roommate is a great way to help pay the rent…
The Alabama commercial lease agreement is a contract used to lease retail, office, or industrial space. The tenant uses the property for business or commercial purposes in exchange for rent. This type of lease is usually longer and more complicated than a residential lease. It is a legally binding contract between a…
Alabama Required Lease Disclosures
- Landlord’s Name & Address (required for all) – Alabama landlords must provide their contact information in the lease agreement for serving legal notices and receiving correspondence.
- Lead Based Paint Disclosures (required for some) – For the safety of tenants, Alabama landlords must provide notice of the potential risks of lead based paint in homes built prior to 1978 with a specific disclosure form and pamphlet in addition to any known hazards in the building.
To learn more about required disclosures in Alabama, click here.
Alabama Landlord Tenant Laws
- Warranty of Habitability – Alabama landlords are required to provide operational plumbing, electrical outlets, HVAC, and hot/cold water to all tenants. If any of these amenities break down, an Alabama landlord has 2 weeks to act upon a tenant’s repair request. If this is not done, an Alabama tenant may perform the repair and deduct the cost from a rent payment.
- Eviction Process – An Alabama landlord may evict their tenant for failing to pay rent, violating a lease term, or engaging in an illegal act. All 3 types of eviction come with a 7-day notice requirement. As such, the eviction process in Alabama can often occur as quickly as a single week.
- Security Deposits – An Alabama landlord may not charge more than 1 months’ rent in value as a security deposit. Once a lease is complete, an Alabama landlord must return said security deposit within 60 days.
- Lease Termination – A month-to-month lease in Alabama can be terminated legally if 30 days of advance notice are provided. A fixed term lease, on the other hand, can only be broken for reasons of military duty, landlord harassment, or statutory uninhabitability.
- Rent Increases & Fees – Alabama does not limit how much a landlord can charge for rent, nor do they limit how often rent can be raised. Alabama does limit discriminatory rent increases, however. As for fees, an Alabama landlord may charge any fee or amount specified in their lease agreements (except for bounced check fees, which are capped at $30 per instance).
- Landlord Entry – An Alabama landlord must provide 2 days of notice in writing before entering a tenant’s dwelling. This requirement does not apply in emergency situations, though.
- Settling Legal Disputes – Alabama landlords and tenants can litigate disputes valued at up to $6,000 in the state’s small claims court. These cases come with a 6-year statute of limitations, however.
To learn more about landlord tenant laws in Alabama, click here.