The Michigan rental agreements are contracts written between a landlord (or property owner) and a tenant for use of a real property. The agreements outline the terms and conditions associated with using the property, including the amount of rent and duration of the tenancy.
Michigan Rental Agreement Types
Michigan Required Lease Disclosures
- Landlord’s Name & Address (required for all) – Michigan lease agreements require the contact information for the landlord or agent that may act on behalf of the rental be provided in or along with the lease agreement to establish communication for serving legal notices.
- Truth in Renting Act Disclosure (required for all) – To help protect renters, Michigan requires a specific notice to be provided in all rental agreements that recommends the renter seeks legal consultation if they have questions about the lease.
- Domestic Violence Protection Disclosure (required for all) – All Michigan lease disclosures must include a specific notice on domestic violence protections, disclosing that victims are entitled to early release from the lease with proof of victim status so that they can utilize their right if necessary.
- Move-In Checklist (required for some) – If intending to charge a security deposit for a rental property, Michigan landlords must provide a move-in checklist for both parties to agree on any existing damages in the unit within 7 days of the move-in date to be used for deducting damages from the security deposit at move-out, as well as a checklist showing the charged damages to the previous tenant.
- Late or Returned Check Fees (required for some) – Landlords in Michigan who wish to impose late or returned check fees for rental payments must declare in the lease agreement the charges that will apply to ensure they can be enforced in court (if required).
- Lead Based Paint Disclosure (required for some) – For the safety of tenants, all states, including Michigan, are required to provide a lead based paint disclosure and informational packet from the EPA outlining risks associated with lead based paint in rental properties built before 1978, plus they must disclose any known instances of lead paint on the property.
To learn more about required disclosures in Michigan, click here.
Michigan Landlord Tenant Laws
- Warranty of Habitability – Michigan requires its landlord to provide an assortment of amenities, including running water, in-unit heating, plumbing, electric outlets, and more. Upon request, a landlord must repair these amenities within a “reasonable” timeframe. Otherwise, their tenant may be entitled to withhold rent (via an escrow account) or perform the repair themselves.
- Evictions – Michigan allows tenants to be evicted from their units if they fail to pay rent (7-day notice), commit an illegal act (24-hour notice), or break a lease term (30-day notice). In general, the expedience of an eviction process here depends on its severity.
- Security Deposits – Security deposits valued at more than 1.5 times the value of rent are not allowed in Michigan. Also, a Michigan landlord is not allowed to hold onto deposit funds of this kind for more than 30 days after a tenant’s departure.
- Lease Termination – To terminate a month-to-month lease in Michigan, a tenant must provide their landlord with a 30-day notice. To terminate a fixed-term lease, a tenant must instead provide proof that they qualify for exception due to their active military duty, domestic violence, age/health condition, landlord harassment, or unit uninhabitability.
- Rent Increases & Fees – Landlords in Michigan are free to raise rent as much as they want, whenever they want. As such, they are not obliged to justify their rent increases or provide notice of the same. Most operational fees in Michigan are similarly without regulation, except for returned check fees. These are limited to $25 (paid within 7 days) or $30 (paid within 30 days).
- Landlord Entry – Michigan landlords may temporarily enter their tenant’s unit, but only after providing as much notice as their lease requires. The state itself does not establish entry standards on this front, including in cases of emergency.
- Settling Legal Disputes – Minor landlord-tenant disputes (except over evictions) in Michigan can be settled via the state’s small claims courts. These claims must be valued at less than $5,000 and fall within the 6-year statute of limitations.
To learn more about landlord tenant laws in Michigan, click here.