The Virginia rental agreements are contracts that establish the use of a real property between the landlord and tenant. These documents define the amount of compensation (“rent”) that the tenant will pay, as well as other conditions. The agreements are governed by Virginia’s landlord-tenant laws.
The Virginia residential lease agreement (“rental agreement”) outlines the conditions agreed upon by a landlord and tenant for the residential use of real estate. The contract will include the length of the agreement (”term”), the payment amount (”rent”), and the obligations of the tenant while leasing the property. Create an official Virginia…
The Virginia month-to-month rental agreement enables a landlord to rent real property to a tenant in exchange for monthly payments. The contract carries a commitment of one month at a time and renews at the beginning of each month until it is canceled by the landlord or the tenant. A month-to-month lease…
The Virginia rental application form allows a landlord to access information about tenants who have applied to rent a property. Prior to deciding on a lease, this form can help the landlord find past criminal history, rental history, and credit information. Applicable Law in Virginia Here are some state laws in Virginia…
The Virginia sublease agreement allows an existing tenant to rent (“sublet”) all (or a portion) of a rental property to a new tenant (“sublessee”). Under this contract, the sublessee is obligated to make recurring payments to relieve some of the rental obligations of the initial tenant’s lease. The sublease has three parties…
The Virginia roommate agreement (“room rental agreement”) is a binding legal document that establishes the responsibilities of each co-tenant in a shared living space. This contract must be signed by all tenants inhabiting the rental and outlines financial responsibilities as well as other terms and conditions. The most important parts of a…
The Virginia commercial lease agreement is a lease specifically used for the rental of retail stores, office space, industrial buildings, or other commercial spaces. This contract defines the rights and responsibilities of the business entity and the owner or landlord of the commercial property. Virginia Commercial Landlord-Tenant Law Here are some interesting…
Virginia Required Lease Disclosures
- Landlord’s Name & Address (required for all) – To ensure legal documents can be delivered, the name and address for the landlord or an agent authorized to act on the property’s behalf must be included in a Virginia lease agreement.
- Move-In Checklist (required for all) – All lease agreements in Virginia must include a move-in checklist that outlines the condition of the property within 5 days of move-in, including any present mold so that damages may be assessed against the security deposit upon move-out.
- Shared Utility Arrangements (required for some) – If there is a shared utility meter between multiple tenants and/or common areas, Virginia landlords must disclose the breakdown of how charges are distributed and any service fees that may be charged to make sure that the appropriate charges are billed to each tenant and that the property can remain livable with access to essential utilities.
- Tenant Displacement Notice (required for some) – Any Virginia property that is scheduled for demolition or construction that will displace tenants within 6 months of the move-in date must include this fact in the lease to avoid landlord liability for eviction without notice.
- Military Air Installation Disclosure (required for some) – Virginia properties that are located nearby a military air installation must disclose the specific zone that the rental unit falls into according to a state zoning map and the risks associated with the location so new tenants know what to expect when moving in, limiting the severability of the lease due to the highlighted “nuisance”.
- Defective Drywall Disclosure (required for some) – Landlords with knowledge of any defective drywall must disclose this information in their Virginia lease for the safety of tenants.
- Methamphetamine Contamination Disclosure (required for some) – If a Virginia landlord has actual knowledge of potential methamphetamine contamination in the property, they must disclose this information and also may not rent the unit until it is decontaminated or they risk liability for damages resulting from methamphetamine exposure.
- Lead Based Paint Disclosure (required for some) – A lead based paint disclosure is required for buildings built before 1978 in Virginia, and should be accompanied by an EPA informational pamphlet and details about existing hazards in the property to protect the landlord and tenant from damages resulting from lead based paints.
To learn more about required disclosures in Virginia, click here.
Virginia Landlord Tenant Laws
- Warranty of Habitability – Virginia law requires landlords to provide in-unit heating, air-conditioning, plumbing, electrical outlets, smoke detectors, and more to all tenants. These amenities and others must be repaired by the landlord with “reasonable” efficiency after receiving a request. If action of this kind is not taken, a Virginia tenant may have a limited right to withhold rent.
- Evictions – Virginia tenants who fail to pay rent (5-day notice) or violate their leasing terms (30-day notice) may be legally evicted. Committing an illegal act may also justify an eviction, though the landlord has discretion to determine the notice period. As such, this kind of eviction may be immediate.
- Security Deposits – A Virginia landlord cannot charge more than 2 months’ rent in value as a security deposit. The remainder of that kind of deposit must be returned to its tenant within 45 days of that tenant’s lease expiring.
- Lease Termination – Virginia tenants in a month-to-month lease may break off said lease by issuing a 30-day notice of their intent to their landlord. In the same vein, a tenant in a fixed-term lease may prematurely terminate their agreement by supplying proof of any of the following: landlord harassment, unit uninhabitability, active military duty, domestic violence, or a failure to issue a mandatory disclosure.
- Rent Increases & Fees – Virginia landlords are free to raise rent as much as they want without providing any notice prior to such an increase going into effect. Meanwhile, most fees charged to a tenant must be outlined in a lease agreement to be considered legal. Some are even caped by law, including bounced check fees ($50).
- Landlord Entry – Virginia requires its landlord to issue notice of an intended entry at least 24 hours in advance. However, notice-less entry is usually permitted in emergency situations that place a tenant at risk for harm.
- Settling Legal Disputes – Virginia permits landlords and tenants to file cases valued at up to $5,000 in the state’s small claims courts. Evictions cases are permitted in this venue, though they may also be heard in the state’s civil courts.
To learn more about landlord tenant laws in Virginia, click here.