The North Dakota rental agreements are legal documents created when a tenant wishes to use real property. The landlord or property owner establishes the amount of the rent, the duration of the tenancy, and more. All agreements must comply with North Dakota’s landlord-tenant laws.
North Dakota Rental Agreement Types
The North Dakota month-to-month rental agreement is a document that landlords use to secure a tenant into a rental for a period of one month. The tenant pays the landlord a monthly fee in addition to a one-time security deposit that is returned when the lease is terminated. This type of agreement…
The North Dakota rental application form is a document that landlords provide to prospective tenants to help determine their viability as a renter. The information collected relates to rental history and financial information, which is then used for background screening purposes. QUICK INFO Application Fee - there is no limit on application…
The North Dakota sublease agreement allows an existing tenant to rent, or sublease, all (or a portion) of a rental property to a new tenant (“sublessee”). This contract requires the sublessee to make routine, regular payments to relieve some or all of the sublessor’s original rental obligations. The original tenant will still…
The North Dakota roommate agreement (“room rental agreement”) is a contract between all tenants in a shared living situation (“co-tenants”). This document clarifies the obligations of each co-tenant, including financials, rules, terms, and conditions associated with the shared space. All co-tenants must sign to comply with North Dakota state law. This is…
The North Dakota commercial lease agreement establishes a rental agreement between a landlord and a tenant, or business. This contract outlines the responsibilities of each party. Commercial properties are expensive to maintain, so these leases are often longer than standard residential leases. North Dakota Commercial Landlord/Tenant Laws In many cases, commercial tenancies…
North Dakota Required Lease Disclosures
- Move-In Checklist (required for all) – North Dakota lease agreements must include a move-in checklist in or alongside the lease that outlines existing damages upon move-in that can be used to recoup a security deposit on move-out.
- Lead Based Paint Disclosure (required for some) – Every North Dakota lease agreement must contain notice of the dangers of lead based paints and any instances of lead paint on the property for rent as part of a lead based paint disclosure if the building was built before 1978.
To learn more about required disclosures in North Dakota, click here.
North Dakota Landlord Tenant Laws
- Warranty of Habitability – North Dakota landlords must make their dwellings “livable” by providing the following to all tenants: plumbing, electric outlets, heating, air-conditioning, and more. All repairs to these amenities must be made in a “reasonable” amount of time after an issue is reported. If they are not, a tenant has the right to repair the issue and deduct its cost from rent.
- Evictions – If a North Dakota tenant fails to pay rent or commits a lease term violation, they must be issued a 3-day notice before being evicted. After committing an illegal act, though, no notice standard exists. As such, an immediate eviction may be allowed under those conditions.
- Security Deposits – Most North Dakota tenants cannot be charged more than 1 months’ rent as a security deposit. Felons and those with previous leasing infractions may be charged up to 2 months’ rent as a security deposit, though. In both cases, deposited funds must be returned within 30 days of the lease’s conclusion.
- Lease Termination – Most month-to-month leases in North Dakota can be broken by a tenant if they issue notice of intent 30 days prior to moving out. In a similar vein, a fixed-term tenant can break their lease early if they qualify for exception on any of the following grounds: active military duty, unit uninhabitability, landlord harassment, or domestic violence.
- Rent Increases & Fees – North Dakota landlords can charge rent rates as high as they see fit. They can also raise rent without justification, so long as they provide 30 days’ notice to all effected tenants. They are also fairly free to charge any fees outlined in an applicable lease agreement. Returned check fees are legally limited to $40, though.
- Landlord Entry – North Dakota only requires its landlords to provide “reasonable” notice before entering an occupied unit. Permission must also be given by the effected tenant, except in cases of emergency.
- Settling Legal Disputes – If a landlord-tenant dispute occurred in the preceding 6 years, it can be heard in North Dakota’s small claims court. This includes all cases (except evictions) valued at up to $15,000.
To learn more about landlord tenant laws in North Dakota, click here.