Grab our free sample or generate an official North Dakota lease agreement for residential use. Read further about required disclosures in North Dakota, optional addendums for things like pets, and what North Dakota landlord tenant laws apply to residential lease agreements.
Lease Agreement Sample
Click here to view/download the direct PDF file.
Security Deposits in North Dakota
In the state of North Dakota, the landlord is only permitted to ask for a months’ rent at maximum according to statute § 47-16-07.1(1). If the tenant is staying on the premises for a period of time that is longer than nine months, the landlord will need to place the security deposit in an account that bears interest. The account information where the deposit is being held will also need to be disclosed to the tenant. The security deposit needs to be returned within 30 days or an itemized list of what the money is being used for will need to be sent to the tenant at a forwarding address that they have provided.
Though a pet deposit is not included in a security deposit, they can still be required from tenants with pets to make sure that the pets do not cause damage in the unit. The maximum that a landlord can charge for a pet deposit is $2,500 in North Dakota.
Breaking a Lease in North Dakota
Rental agreements are considered to be legally binding agreements, so if they are broken by the tenant, there is likely to be some type of penalty for doing so. There are some situations where the tenant will not be penalized, but not all tenants will be able to leave without paying the rent that is owed for the duration of the lease or a fee of some kind. If a new tenant is found for the property, then the tenant will no longer be required to pay the rent for the agreed upon term of the lease that was signed.
Eviction Process in North Dakota
In North Dakota, the landlord can start eviction proceedings when the tenant has not paid their rent or they have broken the terms of the lease in another way. The landlord will need to send the tenant a three-day notice to quit that will explain the reason for the notice, and if they do not comply with the terms set forth in the notice or vacate the premises, the landlord can take the case to court. Then, a Summons and Complaint can be served to the tenant, and a court hearing in the county where the property is located will be set for about 14 days later. At the hearing, the court will make a judgment on the case and rule in favor of the tenant or the landlord. If the judge rules in favor of the landlord, the tenant will need to vacate the property.