- Rent Control / Increase Limitations. North Dakota state landlords can raise rent only after the lease has ended.
- Notice Required to Raise Rent. For month-to-month tenancies, North Dakota landlords must provide 30 days notice from next rent due date.
- Bounced Check Fees. North Dakota state landlords may charge up to $40 for bounced checks.
When Can a Landlord Increase Rent?
A North Dakota landlord may not increase rent during the term of a lease. Rent may be increased on a month-to-month tenant at any time so long as the appropriate notice is provided.
When is it illegal to raise rent?
It is illegal for a North Dakota landlord to raise rent based on the age, race, religion, nation or origin, familial status, or disability status of a tenant Fair Housing Act.
Is there a rent increase limit?
There is no limit placed on the amount a landlord may increase rent in North Dakota.
How Much Notice is Needed for Raising Rent?
When seeking to raise rent on a month-to-month tenant, a North Dakota landlord must provide a minimum 30-Day Notice before increased rent may be expected (North Dakota Statute 47 16).
How Often Can Rent Be Increased?
North Dakota doesn’t place a limit on the frequency with which rent may be increased.
Laws Regarding Late Fees
North Dakota does not legislate late fees. However, late fees should be disclosed within the lease agreement.
Laws Regarding Bounced Check fees
A North Dakota landlord may charge up to $40 for rental payments returned for insufficient funds.
Cities in the State With Rent Control
North Dakota has not legislated rent control. The state preempts the ability of local municipalities to enact, maintain, or enforce any ordinance intended to control the amount of rent charged for leasing private property (North Dakota Statute 47 16).