Ohio Eviction Notice Forms

Last Updated: January 3, 2022 by Elizabeth Souza

An Ohio eviction notice form for nonpayment of rent is a written document that states a tenant has 3 days to pay the rent or vacate the premises. Additionally, there are other notice forms for other possible grounds for eviction in Ohio.

Types of Eviction Notices

Each possible ground for eviction has its own notice type. Some notices allow the tenant to fix (“cure”) the issue and continue the tenancy, while others simply state an amount of time to vacate by.

Grounds Time Curable?
Unpaid Rent 3-Day Yes
Lease Violation 3-Day No
Lease Termination 7/30-Day No
Material Health/Safety Violation 30-Day Yes
Illegal Activity 3-Day No

3-Day Notice to Pay (Nonpayment of Rent)

A landlord is allowed to evict a tenant for failing to pay rent on time.

According to Ohio law, rent is considered “late” the day after it’s due. Grace periods (if any) are addressed in the lease or rental agreement.

Once rent is past due, the landlord must provide a 3-Day Notice to Pay if the landlord wants to file an eviction action with the court. This notice gives the tenant the option to pay the past due amount in full within 3 days to avoid eviction.

If the tenant does not pay the rent due by the end of the notice period and remains on the property, the landlord may proceed with the eviction process.

The Eviction Notice for Nonpayment of Rent should include the total amount of past-due rent owed.

Get the downloadable 3-Day Eviction Notice for Nonpayment of Rent form template below (.pdf direct link).

3-Day Notice to Quit (Non-Compliance)

A tenant can be evicted in Ohio if they do not uphold their responsibilities under the terms of a written lease or rental agreement.

Ohio landlords are not required to allow tenants to correct a lease violation in these instances, but they must provide tenants with a 3-Day Notice to Quit, giving the tenant 3 days to move out of the rental unit to avoid eviction.

Typical lease violations under this category could include things like damaging the rental property, having too many people residing in the rental unit, and having a pet when there’s a no-pet policy.

If the tenant remains on the property after the notice period expires, the landlord may proceed with the eviction process.

The notice should include the date the tenancy will terminate.

Get the downloadable 3-Day Eviction Notice for Noncompliance form template below (.pdf direct link).

7/30-Day Lease Termination Notice (No Lease/End of Lease)

In the state of Ohio, if tenants “hold over,” or stay in the rental unit after the rental term has expired, then the landlord must give tenants notice before evicting them. This can include tenants without a written lease and week-to-week and month-to-month tenants.

Often this type of eviction applies to tenants who are at the end of their lease and the landlord doesn’t want to renew.

The amount of time required in the notice depends on the type of tenancy.

  • Week-to-Week – If rent is paid on a week-to-week basis, a landlord must provide the tenant with a 7-Day Notice to Quit.
  • Month-to-Month – If rent is paid on a month-to-month basis, a landlord must provide the tenant with a 30-Day Notice to Quit.

If the tenant remains on the property after the notice period expires, the landlord may proceed with the eviction process.

The notice should include the date the tenancy will terminate.

Get the downloadable 7/30-Day Lease Termination Notice form template below (.pdf direct link).

30-Day Notice to Cure or Vacate (Material Health/Safety Violation)

A tenant can be evicted in Ohio if they violate a health, building, safety, or housing code. In these instances, the landlord is required to provide the tenant with a 30-Day Notice to Comply, giving the tenant 30 days to correct the issue.

Examples of material health and safety violations could include letting trash pile up inside the rental unit, providing a harbor for rodents or bugs, or even things like damaging the electrical wiring in the rental unit.

If the tenant remains on the property after the notice period expires without correcting the violation, the landlord may proceed with the eviction process.

The notice should include:

  • The specific health or safety violation.
  • The date the tenancy will terminate.

Get the downloadable 30-Day Eviction Notice for Material Health/Safety Violation form template below (.pdf direct link).

3-Day Notice to Quit (Illegal Activity)

Tenants who are involved in illegal drug activity or are registered sex offenders must be given 3 days’ notice before the landlord can proceed with an eviction action.

Tenants may also be evicted if their guests or other occupants in the rental unit are involved in illegal drug activity, even if the tenant wasn’t specifically involved in the activity.

Tenants or other occupants of the rental unit who are registered sex offenders may only be evicted for being a registered sex offender if the rental unit is located within 1,000 feet of a school, pre-school, or child-care center.

For both types of illegal activity, landlords must give tenants a 3-Day Notice to Quit.

If the tenant remains on the property after the notice period expires, the landlord may proceed with the eviction process.

The eviction notice should include the date the tenancy will terminate.

Get the downloadable 3-Day Eviction Notice for Illegal Activity form template below (.pdf direct link).

What to Include in Ohio Eviction Notices

Under Ohio law, all eviction notices must include the following specific language:

“You are being asked to leave the premises. If you do not leave, an eviction action may be initiated against you. If you are in doubt regarding your legal rights and obligations as a tenant, it is recommended that you seek legal assistance.”

In addition, it’s a good idea to include:

  • The date the tenancy will terminate;
  • The reason for the eviction; and
  • The tenant’s name and contact information.

The landlord will also want to get the tenant’s signature confirming that they received the eviction notice, if the notice was hand-delivered.

If the notice was delivered by certified mail, the landlord should keep the receipt number.

Delivering Eviction Notices in Ohio

In the state of Ohio, landlords can deliver an eviction notice by any one of the following methods:

  • Giving it to the tenant in person;
  • Mailing the notice to the tenant via certified mail; or
  • Leaving a copy of the notice at the rental unit or the tenant’s current address (if different).

Note that using certified mail is only one option under Ohio law.

Eviction Process in Ohio

  1. An eviction notice is posted by the landlord to vacate or “cure” the issue.
  2. If the violation is uncured and the tenant remains in the dwelling unit, complaint is filed and served.
  3. A hearing is held and judgment issued.
  4. If an eviction is granted, a Writ of Execution is posted at the property, giving final notice to the tenant to remove their belongings.
  5. Finally, the sheriff returns possession of the property to the landlord.

To learn more about the eviction process in Ohio, click here.

Sources