Grab a Pennsylvania eviction notice template and read further to learn about what happens AFTER a notice is posted, how long the eviction process takes and other aspects of Pennsylvania eviction law.
Click here to view/download the direct PDF file.
When is Rent Due
Under Pennsylvanian law, rent is due according to the contract agreement. There is no grace period for late rent. There is no state law regarding lateness or late fees. There is a limit of $50 as the maximum charge for a check returned by a bank for insufficient funds unless the actual fee from the bank is more.
Types of Eviction Notices
The state of Pennsylvania allows a landlord to give notice to a tenant for unpaid rent, material violations of the rental agreement, and unauthorized overstays after the end of a fixed-term lease. For the service of any notice to be effective, the written notice is handed to the tenant. A mailed notice is not valid under Pennsylvania law.
Here are the rules about eviction notices in Pennsylvania:
- Unpaid Rent
Unless the rental agreement says otherwise, the day that the rent is late is the day after the rent is due. The notice period of lease termination for non-payment of rent is ten days. This notice may be served on the tenant one day after the rent is due and remains unpaid.
The notice must state the rent that is due, late fees, and to whom the past due amount should be paid. It must state that eviction proceedings will commence after 10 days pass unless the balance due is paid in full.
- Notice for Breach of the Lease
A notice for a material breach of the terms and conditions of a lease that is shorter than one year is for 15 days. For a lease longer than one year, it is 30 days. For some longer leases, it might be 90 days and the time can be stated in the lease agreement.
- Notice for Overstays
A notice for an overstay after a lease expires for a lease that is shorter than one year is for 15 days. For a lease longer than one year, it is 30 days.
What Happens After a Notice
After the notice period is over and the rent remains unpaid or the breach is not cured, then the landlord goes to file a lawsuit for unlawful detainer with the Magisterial District Judge in a court with proper jurisdiction.
How Long Does the Eviction Process Take
When a complaint is filed with the court, the court will schedule a hearing within 15 days from the date that the complaint is filed. The judge makes a decision either at that hearing or within three days afterward. If the Magisterial District Judge grants possession to the landlord, the landlord must wait 10 days from the date that the judgment is entered until asking the constable to remove the tenant from the rental unit and to retake possession.
The average time for eviction in Pennsylvania, from start to finish, is about six weeks