- Eviction Notice for Nonpayment of Rent – 14-Day Notice to Pay Rent [.pdf] (read more)
- Eviction Notice for Breach of Rental Agreement/Lease – 30-Day Notice to Quit [.pdf] (read more)
- Eviction Notice for No Cause – 7-Day Notice to Quit, 21-Day Notice to Quit [.pdf], 30/60-Day Notice to Quit (written agreement) [.pdf], 60-Day Notice to Quit (no written agreement) [.pdf], 90-Day Notice to Quit [.pdf] (read more)
- Eviction Notice for Sale of Rental Property – 30-Day Notice (read more)
- Eviction Notice for Illegal Activity – Unconditional Notice to Quit [.pdf] (read more)
A Vermont eviction notice form for nonpayment of rent is a written document that states a tenant has 14 days to pay the rent or to vacate the premises. Additionally, there are other notice forms for other grounds for eviction in Vermont.
Read further to learn about what information is required on an eviction notice for it to be valid, legally acceptable ways of delivering notices, and types of notices for all possible grounds for eviction.
Information Required for all Vermont Eviction Notices
Under Vermont law, a landlord is expected to provide some basic information on all eviction notices, including the date the tenant needs to move out and the reason for the eviction (unless landlord is doing a “no cause” eviction).
While not directly spelled out in Vermont state law, it might also be a good idea to include:
- Whether or not the tenant can remedy the issue and avoid eviction
- The name and contact information of the landlord or the landlord’s agent/representative
- The name and contact information of the person being evicted (to be sure the correct person receives the notice)
The landlord may also want to get the tenant’s signature confirming that they received the eviction notice, if the notice was hand delivered.
In addition, the landlord should keep the receipt number if the notice was delivered by certified mail.
Acceptable Ways of Delivering Eviction Notices
In the state of Vermont, landlords can deliver an eviction notice in the following ways:
- Giving it to the tenant in person
- Mailing the notice to the tenant’s last known address via first class mail
- Mailing it to the tenant’s last known address via certified mail
If the landlord chooses to use first class mail, the court will assume that delivery was accomplished unless the tenant can prove otherwise.
If the landlord sends the notice via certified mail, the tenant must sign for the delivery in order for the court to count the notice as delivered.
Types of Eviction Notices
Each possible ground for eviction has its own process and notice requirements.
Notice for Nonpayment of Rent: 14-Day Notice to Pay Rent
In order to evict a tenant for nonpayment of rent, a Vermont landlord must first give the tenant a 14-Day Notice to Pay and the opportunity to pay the amount owed . If the tenant fails to pay the rent in full within that time period, the landlord may file for eviction.
The Notice for Failure to Pay Rent should include the total amount owed and the date it was due.
This eviction notice should also inform the tenant of the landlord’s right to file an eviction action with the court. In the state of Vermont, a tenant can avoid being evicted by paying the total amount owed within 14 days of receiving the notice.
Get the downloadable 14-Day Notice to Pay Rent form template below (.pdf direct link).
Eviction Notice for Breach of Rental Agreement/Lease: 30-Day Notice to Quit
When a tenant has violated the terms of a rental agreement/lease, a Vermont landlord must give the tenant 30 days’ notice to move out.
This eviction notice does not apply to illegal activity or nonpayment of rent. And although this template gives tenants the option of correcting any issues during the 30-day notice period in order to avoid eviction, Vermont law does not require landlords to give tenants this opportunity.
Get the downloadable 30-Day Notice to Quit form template below (.pdf direct link).
Eviction Notice for No Cause
Vermont landlords don’t have to give a reason for evicting their tenants. In those instances, they still have to give their tenants notice prior to evicting them; however, they must give different notice periods depending on:
- Whether there was a written rental agreement/lease
- How long the tenant has lived in the rental unit
- Whether the tenant rents monthly or weekly
The following chart clarifies how much notice should be given in each situation.
|Rental Terms||Written Agreement?||Length of Time in Unit||Required Notice Amount|
|Monthly||No||>2 years||90 days|
|Monthly||Yes||>2 years||60 days|
Get the downloadable 21-Day Eviction Notice for No Cause form template below (.pdf direct link).
Get the downloadable 60-Day Eviction Notice for No Cause (no written agreement) form template below (.pdf direct link).
Get the downloadable 90-Day Eviction Notice for No Cause form template below (.pdf direct link).
Get the downloadable 30/60-Day Eviction Notice for No Cause (written agreement) form template below (.pdf direct link).
Eviction Notice for Sale of Rental Property: 30-Day Notice
If there is no written lease agreement, and the rental property is sold, landlords are required to provide their tenants with 30 days’ notice if the tenants are being evicted because of the sale.
This type of notice needs to state that the rental property is being sold and include the date the tenant must move out.
There is nothing a tenant can “comply” with during the 30 day time period in order to avoid eviction .
Eviction Notice for Illegal Activity
If tenants participate in illegal activity in the rental unit or on rental property grounds, under Vermont law, the landlord can evict the tenant after giving 14 days’ notice.
“Illegal” activity includes: criminal activity, illegal drug activity, and violent acts that affect the health/safety of the residents in the rental unit. In these scenarios, tenants don’t have the option of correcting the issue in order to avoid eviction.
Get the downloadable Unconditional Notice to Quit form template below (.pdf direct link).