- Tenant to Landlord (End of Lease) [.pdf] – no prior notice is required in Vermont at the end of a fixed-term lease, but it is recommended to send the landlord a letter.
- Tenant to Landlord (Month-to-Month) [.pdf] – notice is required at least one payment period prior to the termination date specified in the notice.
- Landlord to Tenant (End of Lease) [.pdf] – no prior notice is required in Vermont at the end of a fixed-term lease, but it is recommended to send the tenant a letter.
- Landlord to Tenant (Month-to-Month) [.pdf] – notice is required at least one payment period prior to the termination date specified in the notice.
Purpose. A Vermont lease termination letter (“Notice to Vacate”) is a required document to end month-to-month lease agreements in Vermont. State law requires giving at least one payment period notice for termination. However, state law does not require notice to be given to end fixed term lease agreements on their end date.
Read further to learn more about notice requirements and the residential lease termination process in Vermont.
Vermont Notice Requirements for Lease Termination by Tenant
- For a fixed-term lease, there is no statute in the state, but when the lease expires, the tenant will not usually be required to give notice. If this is different for any specific rental unit, it should be addressed in the lease.
- With a periodic lease that is yearly or longer, the tenant will need to provide a 60-day notice for tenancies that have been less than two years in length and a 90-day notice for those that were two years or longer.
- A tenant must give at least a 30-day notice to vacate a month-to-month rental agreement.
- For a week-to-week agreement, the tenant will be required to give the landlord a notice that is at least 21 days.
Legally Terminating a Lease Early in Vermont
- Entering Active Military Duty: When the tenant enters active military duty, they will have the right to break the lease and leave the property before the term is over. They will be required to give the landlord notice, but after a notification is sent, the tenancy will end 30 days after the rent is due next.
- Uninhabitable Unit: This means that the property is not kept in line with the safety and health codes of the state. For example, if the tenant does not have hot water, and it is not being repaired, they have the right to stop paying the rent and move out of the premises.
- Breach of Peaceful Enjoyment: Any behavior that the landlord is doing that will invade upon the privacy of the tenant or their ability to enjoy the rental unit will allow the tenant to break the term of the rental agreement. This can include removing the doors, turning or the utilities, or entering the premise without giving adequate notice. In Vermont, the landlord can only enter between 9 am and 9 pm, and they must provide at least a 48-hour notice to the tenant.