- Rent Control / Increase Limitations. Illinois landlords can raise rent without reason, by as much as they like and as often as they want, as long as it isn’t during the term of the lease and isn’t for a discriminatory or retaliatory reason.
- Notice Required to Raise Rent. For month-to-month tenancies, landlords must provide 30 days notice from next rent due date.
- Late Rent Fees. Illinois landlords can only charge late rent fees if terms are included in the written lease agreement and cannot exceed $20 or 20% (whichever is greater).
When Can a Landlord Increase Rent in Illinois?
Landlords in Illinois do not need reason to increase rent, as long as it’s not done during the term of the lease, and as long as it’s not done for discriminatory purposes.
Additionally, Illinois passed the Rent Control Preemption Act in 1997, barring municipalities from implementing the control of the amount of rent charged for leasing a property .
When Is It Illegal to Raise Rent in Illinois?
It is illegal for a landlord to raise rent based on the age, race, religion, nation or origin, familial status, or disability status of a tenant Fair Housing Act.
It is also illegal for a landlord to retaliate against a tenant for exercising his/her tenant right to report health or safety issues Retaliatory Eviction Act Illinois
Is There a Rent Increase Limit in Illinois?
There is no legislation limiting how much rent may be increased.
How Much Notice is Needed for Raising Rent in Illinois?
When seeking to raise rent on a tenant who is renting weekly, an Illinois landlord should provide the tenant with a 7-Day Notice. When seeking to raise rent on a month-to-month tenant, the landlord should provide a 30-Day Notice 735 ILCS 5/9-205 and 207.
How Often Can Rent Be Increased in Illinois?
Illinois has no legislation limiting the frequency with which rent may be increased.
Laws Regarding Late Fees in Illinois
Late fees must be noted in the lease agreement and may not exceed $20 or 20% of the rental fee for each month rent is not paid. A landlord may also charge the tenant for any reasonable expenses incurred in his/her attempt to collect the rent 770 ILCS 95-7.10
Laws Regarding Bounced Check Fees in Illinois
Illinois has no statute regarding bounced check fees.
Cities in Illinois with Rent Control
The Illinois Rent Control Preemption Act prevents local municipalities from enacting, enforcing, or maintaining ordinances controlling the amount of rent that can be charged for private property The Rent Control Preemption Act.