Showing the property to potential renters and buyers.
Can a Landlord Enter Without Permission in Maine?
Maine landlordscan legally enter a rental property without the tenant’s permission,but only in emergencies or when there’s a provable reason it’s not practically possible to get the renter’s consent.
Can a Landlord Enter Without the Tenant Present in Maine?
Maine landlordscan legally enter a rental property without the tenant present.
Can a Landlord Show a House While Occupied in Maine?
Maine landlordscan show an occupied house.The renter can’t unreasonably refuse.
How Often Can Landlords Conduct Routine Inspections in Maine?
Maine landlords haveno specific limiton how they can enter for inspections. The landlord isn’t allowed to enter unreasonably often, but what’s reasonable gets decided case by case.
How Much Notice Does a Landlord Need To Provide in Maine?
Maine landlords mustprovide reasonable advance noticeof an intention to enter. The law presumes 24 hours is reasonable, unless there’s a provable reason to justify a different amount of notice.
Can a Landlord Enter Without Notice in Maine?
Maine landlords canonly enter without notice in emergencies,or when there’s a provable reason it’s not practically possible to contact the renter.
How Can Landlords Notify Tenants of an Intention To Enter in Maine?
Maine landlords can notify tenantsverbally or in writingabout an intention to enter.
Can a Tenant Refuse Entry to a Landlord in Maine?
Maine tenantscan refuse a landlord’s entry for most purposesexcept emergencies and similar situations. However, for legally allowed purposes like repairs, the tenant can’t refuse entry unless there are substantively reasonable grounds to do so (for example, if the landlord intends non-essential repairs at 2:00AM).
What Happens If the Tenant Illegally Refuses Entry to the Landlord in Maine?
Maine landlords might do any of the following if a tenant illegally refuses entry:
Get a court order to force access.
Deliver a 7-day eviction notice (if the tenant refuses needed repairs).
Recover cost of any actual damages.
Can a Tenant Change the Locks Without Permission in Maine?
Maine tenantscan change locks without permissionunless the lease prohibits it.However, thelandlord can enter using reasonable force, and evict,if tenants don’t give notice of the rekey and promptly provide new keys within 48 hours(72 hours, when they’re changing locks after domestic or sexual abuse).
What Can a Tenant Do If the Landlord Enters Illegally in Maine?
Maine tenants can do any of the following, if the landlord enters illegally:
Get a court order to ban the landlord from entering.
Recover attorney fees from the landlord (when the landlord contests the action).
Recover cost of any actual damages, or $100 (whichever is greater).
“A tenant may not unreasonably withhold consent to the landlord to enter into the dwelling unit in order to inspect the premises, make necessary or agreed repairs, decorations, alterations or improvements, supply necessary or agreed services or exhibit the dwelling unit to prospective or actual purchasers, mortgagees, tenants, workers or contractors.”
“Except in the case of emergency or if it is impracticable to do so, the landlord shall give the tenant reasonable notice of his intent to enter and shall enter only at reasonable times. Twenty-four hours is presumed to be a reasonable notice in the absence of evidence to the contrary.”
“If a tenant changes the lock and does not provide the landlord with a duplicate key, in the case of emergency the landlord may gain admission through whatever reasonable means necessary and charge the tenant reasonable costs for any resulting damage. If a tenant changes the lock and refuses to provide the landlord with a duplicate key, the landlord may terminate the tenancy with a 7-day notice.”
“Notwithstanding any other provisions of this chapter, the tenancy may be terminated upon 7 days’ written notice in the event that the landlord can show, by affirmative proof, that: A. The tenant, the tenant’s family or an invitee of the tenant has caused substantial damage to the demised premises that the tenant has not repaired or caused to be repaired before the giving of the notice provided in this subsection; B. The tenant, the tenant’s family or an invitee of the tenant caused or permitted a nuisance within the premises, has caused or permitted an invitee to cause the dwelling unit to become unfit for human habitation or has violated or permitted a violation of the law regarding the tenancy.”
“A tenant may not change the lock to the dwelling unit without giving notice to the landlord and giving the landlord a duplicate key within 48 hours of the change. A victim may change the locks to the unit at the victim’s expense. If the victim changes the locks to the unit, the victim [‘an individual who has been subject to domestic violence, sexual assault or stalking.’] shall provide the landlord with a duplicate key within 72 hours of changing the locks.”
“If a landlord makes an entry in violation of this section, makes a lawful entry in an unreasonable manner or makes repeated demands for entry otherwise lawful that have the effect of harassing the tenant, the tenant may recover actual damages or $100, whichever is greater, and obtain injunctive relief to prevent recurrence of the conduct, and if the tenant obtains a judgment after a contested hearing, reasonable attorney’s fees.”