Nevada Renter’s Rights for Repairs

Nevada Renter’s Rights for Repairs

Last Updated: June 14, 2024 by Roberto Valenzuela

In general, a landlord in Nevada has to repair any issues at a rental property that could affect a tenant’s health or safety. The landlord must repair issues within 14 days of getting written notice from the tenant about the needed repairs.

Nevada Landlord Responsibilities for Repairs

Nevada landlords are responsible for keeping all of the following in good working condition:

  • Weatherproofing (including windows and doors)
  • Plumbing
  • Electricity
  • Heating
  • Hot and cold water
  • Garbage containers and removal
  • Floors, walls, ceilings, stairways and railings
  • Required smoke alarms and carbon monoxide (CO) detectors
  • Provided appliances
  • Common areas
  • Features required by local code

If any of the above stops working properly, and the tenant isn’t at fault for the damage, the landlord is the one responsible for making the repairs necessary to fix it.

Read more

What Repairs Are Tenants Responsible for in Nevada?

Nevada tenants are responsible for repairing any damage they cause to the property which affects health and safety.

On a case by case basis, the landlord and tenant can agree for the tenant to handle specific maintenance, as long as this doesn’t impact the landlord’s obligations to other tenants on the property.

Requesting Repairs in Nevada

Nevada tenants must request repairs by providing the landlord written notice about the issue that needs repair.

How Long Does a Landlord Have To Make Repairs in Nevada?

Nevada landlords have 14 days to put forth their best possible effort to make repairs, after getting proper written notice about an issue from the tenant.

Can the Landlord Refuse To Make Repairs in Nevada?

Nevada landlords cannot refuse to make necessary repairs, unless the tenant caused the issue or refused to allow the landlord access to properly fix the issue.

Can the Landlord Make the Tenant Pay for Repairs in Nevada?

Nevada law completely prohibits a landlord from requiring a tenant to pay any fee or charge for repairs, maintenance, or any other work the landlord is required to do by law. This explicitly includes any charges related to a deductible or copayment related to insurance or a service contract. However, a landlord can require a tenant to pay for repair to damage resulting from the tenant’s deliberate or negligent actions.

Do Landlords Have To Pay for Alternative Accommodation During Repairs in Nevada?

Nevada landlords are not required to pay for alternative accommodation while they conduct repairs. However, a situation that requires the tenant to move out for repairs may be a constructive eviction that lets the tenant end the lease and stop paying rent after moving out.

Tenant’s Rights if Repairs Aren’t Made in Nevada

Nevada tenants can cancel the rental agreement if the landlord doesn’t make timely repairs, in many situations. They might also sue for damages or get an injunction to force repairs, or even withhold rent through court escrow account payments.

Can the Tenant Withhold Rent in Nevada?

Nevada tenants can withhold rent, but not unilaterally. They must pay withheld rent into a court-approved escrow account. Otherwise, the landlord can evict for nonpayment of rent.

Can the Tenant Repair and Deduct in Nevada?

Nevada tenants can arrange for repairs and deduct from the rent. The deductible amount is one month’s rent or $100 (whichever is greater) in any 12-month period, when the landlord fails to do repairs after proper notice. The lease can require that such repairs be done by qualified professionals.

Can the Tenant Break Their Lease in Nevada?

Nevada tenants can break their lease 14 days after written notice, for failure to repair issues that weren’t the tenant’s responsibility or other uncorrected violations.

Tenants can move out and break their lease immediately, when the property is destroyed or severely damaged by an action that wasn’t the tenant’s fault (for example, a hurricane). The tenant must notify the landlord within seven days of termination.

Can the Tenant Sue in Nevada?

Nevada tenants can sue to force repairs or recover monetary damages, when the landlord doesn’t make timely repairs after proper notice.

Can the Tenant Report the Landlord in Nevada?

Nevada tenants can report landlords for code violations that affect health or safety. Tenants should usually report to the local inspections or code enforcement department. If an inspecting officer finds a violation, the tenant could cancel the rental agreement, or sue to force repairs.

Read more

Landlord Retaliation in Nevada

It’s illegal for Nevada landlords to retaliate with tenancy termination, raised rent, reduced services, or threatened eviction against tenants in one of the following protected situations:

  • Complaining to the landlord or government about various legal issues with the property
  • Participating in a tenant organization
  • Starting, or winning, a proceeding or arbitration where habitability is raised as a claim
  • Refusing to consent to a landlord regulation that hasn’t yet become enforceable
  • Becoming a victim of domestic violence, harassment, sexual assault or stalking
  • Being a worker in a protected class during a general shutdown

The law allows an exception when the landlord can prove good cause for the alleged retaliatory action. For example, a landlord who raises rent proportionately for all tenants in response to a large increase in property tax is not retaliating, even if a tenant has recently complained about maintenance.

Read more