Rent Increases & Fees in Georgia

Last Updated: May 23, 2022 by Elizabeth Souza

In Georgia, the regulation of rent is primarily governed by GA Code § 44-7-19. Georgia preempts rent control. This law bans rent control throughout the state, allowing all landlords to set rent and increase it (with proper notice).

Quick Facts
Rent Control None (State Ban)
Minimum Notice for Rent Increases No Statute
Max. Late Fee No Statute
Max. Bounced Check Fee $30 or 5% of the check

When Can a Landlord Increase Rent in Georgia?

A Georgia landlord must abide by the written rental agreement. Rent can only be increased during a lease if it’s disclosed in the agreement. However, a landlord may increase rent at any time on a month-to-month tenant.

When Is It Illegal to Raise Rent in Georgia?

According to the Federal Fair Housing Act, it is illegal for a Georgia landlord to raise rent based on the age, race, religion, nation or origin, familial status, or disability status of a tenant.

Under Georgia law, landlords are not permitted to increase rent in retaliation against a tenant for exercising a legal right, such as filing a legitimate complaint to a local housing authority concerning their tenancy.

Is There a Rent Increase Limit in Georgia?

Georgia does not legislate that amount of rent a landlord may charge.

How Much Notice Is Needed for Raising Rent in Georgia?

Although the state has no specific legislation regarding notice for increasing rent, it is customary for a Georgia landlord to provide a 60-Day Notice before increasing rent. (GA Code § 44-7-7)

For a FREE rent increase notice template, click here.

How Often Can Rent Be Increased in Georgia?

Georgia does not regulate the frequency with which a landlord may increase rent.

Laws Regarding Late Fees in Georgia

Georgia does not regulate the amount that a landlord may charge in late fees. However, a landlord must disclose information regarding late fees in the written lease.

Laws Regarding Bounced Check Fees in Georgia

A Georgia landlord may charge a tenant up to $30 or 5% of the check, whichever is greater.  (GA Code § 13-6-15)

Georgia Cities With Rent Control

Georgia has no legislation regarding rent control.