- Rent Control / Increase Limitations. Illinois landlords can raise rent without reason, as much as they like and as often as they want. A landlord can’t raise rent during the term of the lease and isn’t increasing rent for a discriminatory or retaliatory reason.
- Notice Required to Raise Rent. For month-to-month tenancies, landlords must provide 30 days’ notice from next rent due date and for week-to-week tenancies 7 days’ notice.
- Late Rent Fees. Illinois landlords can charge a “reasonable” late fee if it’s in the lease agreement.
When Can a Landlord Increase Rent in Illinois?
In Illinois, landlords are unable to raise rent during a fixed-term lease. Landlords may increase rent on periodic lease agreements (i.e., month-to-month, week-to-to-week, etc.).
When Is It Illegal to Raise Rent in Illinois?
According to the Federal Fair Housing Act, it is illegal for a landlord to raise rent based on the age, race, religion, nation or origin, familial status, or disability status of a tenant.
Is There a Rent Increase Limit in Illinois?
There is no state statute limiting rent increases.
How Much Notice is Needed for Raising Rent in Illinois?
An Illinois landlord should provide week-to-week tenants with a 7-Day Notice and month-to-month tenants with a 30-Day Notice (735 ILCS 5/9-205 and 207).
For a FREE rent increase notice template, click here.
How Often Can Rent Be Increased in Illinois?
Illinois has no regulations on limiting the frequency with which rent can increase.
Laws Regarding Late Fees in Illinois
In Illinois, late fees must be “reasonable” and must be in the lease agreement.
Laws Regarding Bounced Check Fees in Illinois
Illinois has no statute regarding bounced check fees.
Cities in Illinois with Rent Control
The Illinois Rent Control Preemption Act prevents local municipalities from enacting, enforcing, or maintaining ordinances controlling the amount of rent that can be charged for private property The Rent Control Preemption Act.