In Indiana, the regulation of rent is primarily governed by IN Code § 32-31-1-20. This state has preempted rent control. This law bans rent control throughout the state, allowing all landlords to set rent and increase it (with proper notice).
|Minimum Notice for Rent Increases||30 Days|
|Max. Late Fee||No Statute|
|Max. Bounced Check Fee||$25|
When Can a Landlord Increase Rent in Indiana?
A landlord is unable to raise rent during a fixed-term lease, unless stated in the lease agreement. If it is a periodic tenancy (i.e., month-to-month, etc.) a landlord can raise rent with proper notice.
When Is It Illegal to Raise Rent in Indiana?
According to the Federal Fair Housing Act, it is illegal, in the state of Indiana, for a landlord to raise rent based on the age, race, religion, nation or origin, familial status, or disability status of a tenant.
Is There a Rent Increase Limit in Indiana?
The state of Indiana has no rent increase limit. (IC 32-31-5-4).
How Much Notice Is Needed for Raising Rent in Indiana?
In the state of Indiana, a landlord must provide a minimum of a 30-Day Notice for periodic tenancies. (IC 32-31-5-4)
For a FREE rent increase notice template, click here.
How Often Can Rent Be Increased in Indiana?
The state of Indiana does not regulate how often rent can increase.
Laws Regarding Late Fees in Indiana
The state of Indiana has no statutes regarding the amount that landlord may charge for late fees. Fees should be in the lease agreement.
Laws Regarding Bounced Check Fees in Indiana
In the state of Indiana, a landlord may charge a tenant up to a $25 fee for rental payments returned for insufficient funds. (IC 24-4.5-7-202)
Indiana Cities With Rent Control
The state of Indiana has legislation indicating that rental rates may not be regulated for privately owned real property unless authorized by an act of the general assembly. (IC 32-31-1-20)