- Rent Control / Increase Limitations. Michigan state landlords can raise rent only if it’s stated in the lease and only with appropriate notice.
- Notice Required to Raise Rent. No state statute. It is customary for Michigan landlords to provide at least a 30 days’ notice from next rent due date.
- Bounced Check Fees. Michigan state landlords may charge up to $35 for bounced checks.
When Can a Landlord Increase Rent?
A Michigan landlord must follow the conditions established in the written lease. Therefore, a landlord may not increase rent during the course of a fixed-term lease, unless this is included in the lease itself.
A landlord may increase rent when there is no written lease or during a periodic tenancy (i.e., month-to-month lease, week-to-week lease, etc.), by providing the tenant with the appropriate amount of notice.
When is it Illegal to Raise Rent?
It is illegal for a landlord to raise rent in retribution for a tenant’s filing a claim regarding the health and safety of the property or for joining a tenant’s group (Michigan Legislation Regarding Retribution).
According to the Federal Fair Housing Act, it is illegal for a landlord to raise rent based on the age, race, religion, nation or origin, familial status, or disability status of a tenant.
Is there a Rent Increase Limit?
Michigan does not legislate the amount a landlord can increase a tenant’s rent.
How Much Notice is Needed for Raising Rent?
There is no state statute on the amount of notice a landlord must provide to a tenant when raising rent. However, it is customary for a Michigan landlord to provide at least a 30-Day Notice before he/she may expect the increased rent. (Mich. Comp Law 55-134)
For a FREE rent increase notice template, click here.
How Often Can Rent Be Increased?
Michigan does not limit the frequency of rent increases.
Laws Regarding Late Fees
Michigan has no laws regarding late fees, but the landlord should include any rules in the written lease.
Laws Regarding Bounced Check Fees
A Michigan landlord may charge a tenant $25 if payment is not made in full within 7 days or $35 if payment is not made in full within 30 days. (Mich. Comp Law 600.2952).
Cities in the State with Rent Control
Michigan law indicates that local municipalities may not “enact, maintain, or enforce,” any ordinance intended to impact the amount of rent a landlord may charge for leasing private residential property (Mich. Law 123.411).