In Ohio, there is no rent control, and the state does not preempt rent control. If proper notice is given, landlords can set rent and increase it. Ohio landlord-tenant law is primarily governed by OH Rev. Code § 5321.
|Minimum Notice for Rent Increases||No Statute|
|Max. Late Fee||No Statute|
|Max. Bounced Check Fee||$30 or 10%|
When Can a Landlord Increase Rent in Ohio?
The state of Ohio has no rent control legislation. Thus, making it possible for a landlord to raise rent as he/she sees fit. Tenants should be provided with reasonable notice before they sign the lease or renewal agreement.
When Is It Illegal to Raise Rent in Ohio?
According to the Federal Fair Housing Act, it is illegal for a landlord to increase rent based on the age, sex, race, religion, nation or origin, familial status, or disability status of a tenant.
It is also illegal for a landlord to raise rent in retaliation when a tenant files a complaint regarding the health or safety of the property unless this issue was caused by the tenant. (Ohio Rev. Code § 5321.05).
Is There a Rent Increase Limit in Ohio?
The state provides no regulation of rent increases in the state of Ohio.
How Much Notice Is Needed for Raising Rent in Ohio?
In the state of Ohio, there is no specific law requiring a landlord to provide tenants with advance notice of rent increases between lease terms. However, it is customary to provide at least a 30 days’ notice.
How Often Can Rent Be Increased in Ohio?
The state provides no guidance on how often a landlord can increase rent.
Laws Regarding Late Fees in Ohio
The state does not regulate late fees. Late fees must be written in the lease agreement.
Laws Regarding Bounced Check Fees in Ohio
In the state of Ohio, the landlord may attach fees for a bounced check of the larger of $30 or 10% of the rent check. (ORSA 1319.16)
Ohio Cities With Rent Control
There are currently no cities with rent control legislation in the state.