In Utah, the regulation of rent is primarily governed by UT Code § 57-20-1. This state prohibits rent control. The law bans rent control throughout the state, allowing all landlords to set rent and increase it with proper notice.
|Minimum Notice for Rent Increases||No Statute|
|Max. Late Fee||No Statute|
|Max. Bounced Check Fee||$20 + $35 for additional charges not paid within 15 days|
When Can a Landlord Increase Rent in Utah?
A Utah landlord must abide by the conditions of a written lease. Unless the written lease provides the landlord with the ability to increase rent, he/she will have to wait until the end of the lease to increase the tenant’s rent. Although the state does not provide specific legislation regarding the amount of notice required to increase a tenant’s rent, it is generally believed that the same amount of notice must be provided to increase rent as is necessary to terminate tenancy.
When Is It Illegal to Raise Rent in Utah?
It is illegal for a Utah landlord to raise rent based on the age, race, religion, nation or origin, familial status, or disability status of a tenant Fair Housing Act.
Is There a Rent Increase Limit in Utah?
Utah does not legislation the amount that a landlord may increase rent.
How Much Notice Is Needed for Raising Rent in Utah?
There is no statute on the amount of notice that a landlord should provide to a tenant before a rent increase; however, it is customary to provide the same amount of notice to terminate a tenancy. A Utah landlord should provide a 15-Day Notice before increasing rent. (Utah Statute 78B-6-802)
How Often Can Rent Be Increased in Utah?
The state of Utah does not legislate how often a landlord can increase rent.
Laws Regarding Late Fees in Utah
Utah has no legislation regulating late fees. However, late fees should be written in the lease.
Laws Regarding Bounced Check Fees in Utah
In Utah, a landlord may add a $20 fee when a check has insufficient funds. If the tenant fails to pay the amount of the check and the $20 fee within 15 days of receiving notice requesting such payment, the landlord may add collection costs of up to $35 to the outstanding charges. If the check and fees are not paid within 30 days of notice, a landlord can begin a civil action lawsuit. (Utah Statute 7-15-2)
Utah Cities With Rent Control
The state of Utah has no legislation controlling the amount that landlords may charge for rent. The state does have legislation preempting the initiation of legislation regarding rent control.