- Tenant to Landlord (End of Lease) [.pdf] – no prior notice is required in Tennessee at the end of a fixed-term lease, but it is recommended to send the landlord a letter.
- Tenant to Landlord (Month-to-Month) [.pdf] – notice is required at least 30 days prior to the start of the next rental month in Tennessee for month-to-month leases or “at will” tenants that pay rent month-to-month.
- Landlord to Tenant (End of Lease) [.pdf] – no prior notice is required in Tennessee at the end of a fixed-term lease, but it is recommended to send the tenant a letter.
- Landlord to Tenant (Month-to-Month) [.pdf] – notice is required at least 30 days prior to the start of the next rental month in Tennessee for month-to-month leases or “at will” tenants that pay rent month-to-month.
Purpose. A Tennessee lease termination letter (“Notice to Vacate”) is a required document to end month-to-month lease agreements in Tennessee. State law requires giving at least 30 days notice for termination. However, state law does not require notice to be given to end fixed term lease agreements on their end date.
Read further to learn more about notice requirements and the residential lease termination process in Tennessee.
Tennessee Notice Requirements for Lease Termination
Fixed-term Leases: For fixed-term leases, no notice is required to terminate the lease. The lease will terminate at the end of the term specified in the lease. However, it is recommended to send a notice of termination anyway close to the end of the lease to avoid any ambiguity regarding when the tenant is required to move out.
Weekly Leases: For weekly leases, give the notice to the other party at least 10 calendar days before the termination date.
Month-to-Month Leases: For month-to-month leases, give the notice to the other party at least 30 calendar days prior to the first day of the next rental period. The lease will terminate at the end of the rental period that starts after the 30-day period from giving the 30-day notice of termination. To illustrate, if the next rent payment covers for the period from May 5 to June 4, the notice must be sent before April 5 to end the lease by June 4. If the notice is sent on April 6, then the lease will terminate at the end of the next rental period: June 5 to July 4. This is because by the time the 30-day period after the April 6 notice was given, the May 5 to June 4 rental period had already begun, which means the lease will not be terminated during that period.
Legally Terminating a Lease Early in Tennessee
A tenant who has been called to active duty in a branch of the armed services. It will need to be a uniformed branch, but it will be terms for breaking the lease.
The tenant can break the lease without penalty when the rental unit is not up to the standard that is set by the Tennessee state Health and Safety codes. This can include serious issues like a lack of heat when it is cold outside.
If the landlord has harassed or violated the rights of the tenant in any way, they have the right to break the lease. This can include removing doors, entering the unit without notice, turning off the utilities, or changing the locks.