Grab our free sample or generate an official West Virginia month-to-month rental agreement for residential use. Read further about required disclosures in West Virginia, optional addendums for things like pets, and how much notice is needed to terminate month-to-month leases in West Virginia.
Click here to view/download the direct PDF file.
What is a West Virginia Month-to-Month Lease?
A month-to-month rental agreement is one that is set for the term of a month, but it will automatically renew when the term expires each month. This will give the tenant and the landlord a bit more flexibility with the agreement so that the tenant can move out at any time that is convenient to them as long as they provide the landlord with the appropriate notice. When the landlord wants the tenant to move out, the landlord can easily discontinue the agreement as well with short notice to the tenant. This increases the convenience of the agreement for both parties, and if the landlord would like to raise the rent, it can be done more efficiently.
West Virginia Requirements for a Month-to-Month Lease Termination
When a tenant wants to vacate the property, they are going to need to give the landlord a notice of 30 days before vacating. This is so the landlord can find new tenants for the soon to be vacant space. If the landlord wants the tenant to move out of the unit, they will also need to send the tenant a 30-day notice as well. This will give the tenant time to find another place to live before they need to move out of the unit.
Raising the Rent in West Virginia
With a month-to-month rental agreement, the landlord can decide to raise the rent at any time because the agreement effectively ends and begins again each month. There is no statute in West Virginia that will determine how much notice the landlord needs to provide before changing the rent, so the notice can vary. With that being said, it should be a reasonable amount for the rent increase so that the tenant does not refuse to pay it. Also, make sure that the tenant gets plenty of notice so that they are prepared to pay the new amount when it is due. How often the rent can be changed is also up to the landlord in this state.