Grab our free sample or generate an official Pennsylvania month-to-month rental agreement for residential use. Read further about required disclosures in Pennsylvania, optional addendums for things like pets, and how much notice is needed to terminate month-to-month leases in Pennsylvania.
Click here to view/download the direct PDF file.
What is a Pennsylvania month-to-month lease?
Pennsylvania landlords and tenants may want to use a month-to-month lease agreement for its short-term nature and ease of termination. A fixed-term lease may convert to a month-to-month agreement if the landlord and tenant desire to continue on that basis after the fixed-term expires.
Pennsylvania Notice Requirements for Month-to-Month Lease Termination
A Pennsylvania month-to-month lease allows either party to terminate the agreement by giving 30-days written notice.
Rent Control in Pennsylvania
There is no rent control law in Pennsylvania. After a lease expires, a landlord can raise the rent to any amount the landlord wants. Rent increases are not limited unless the lease has a renewal option that limits the amount for an increase.
If a landlord wants to increase the rent on a month-to-month lease agreement, the landlord should give the tenant a minimum of 15 days’ notice. If the tenant has a lease that is longer than one year, then the written notice given for a rent increase should be 30 days.
Some cities have different rules for this. For example, Philadelphia requires 60 days notice for a rent increase on leases that are longer than one year and 30 days notice for a rent increase on leases that are less than one year or month-to-month agreements (section PC 9-804).