In Kentucky, the regulation of rent is primarily governed by KY Rev. Stat. § 65-.875. This state prohibits rent control. This law bans rent control throughout the state, allowing all landlords to set rent and increase it (with proper notice).
|Minimum Notice for Rent Increases||No Statute|
|Max. Late Fee||$20 or 20% of the rental fee + reasonable expenses incurred|
|Max. Bounced Check Fee||$50|
When Can a Landlord Increase Rent in Kentucky?
Kentucky landlords must abide by the terms established in the written lease. In most cases, rent cannot be increased during a fixed-term lease, unless stated otherwise in the lease. A Kentucky landlord may increase rent for periodic tenancies if appropriate advanced notice is provided.
When Is It Illegal to Raise Rent in Kentucky?
According to the Federal Fair Housing Act, it is illegal for a Kentucky landlord to raise rent based on the age, race, religion, nation or origin, familial status, or disability status of a tenant
Is There a Rent Increase Limit in Kentucky?
The state of Kentucky does not legislate rent increases.
How Much Notice Is Needed for Raising Rent in Kentucky?
Although there is no state statue specifically addressing the amount of notice required for an increase rent. It is customary to provide at least a 30-Day Notice. (KRS 383.695)
For a FREE rent increase notice template, click here.
How Often Can Rent Be Increased in Kentucky?
Kentucky does not limit the frequency with which rent increases may occur.
Laws Regarding Late Fees in Kentucky
A reasonable late fee of $20 or 20% of the rental fee for each month a tenant doesn’t pay rent (whichever is greater) can be collected by the landlord when rent hasn’t been paid for at least 5 days after the due date. Additionally, reasonable expenses incurred as a result of rent collection or through a lien enforcement can be collected.
Late fees can only be collected if the fee and the conditions for imposing the fee are outlined in the lease agreement or an addendum. (KRS 359.215)
Laws Regarding Bounced Check Fees in Kentucky
A Kentucky landlord may charge a tenant up to $50 for a payment that is returned for insufficient funds (KRS 514.040(4b)).
Kentucky Cities With Rent Control
Kentucky legislation prohibits rent control.