In Missouri the regulation of rent is primarily governed by MO Rev. Stat. §441.043. This state preempts rent control. The law bans rent control throughout the state, allowing all landlords to set rent and increase it with proper notice.
|Minimum Notice for Rent Increases||No Statute|
|Max. Late Fee||$20 or 20% of the monthly rent|
|Max. Bounced Check Fee||$25|
When Can a Landlord Increase Rent in Missouri?
A Missouri landlord must follow the conditions of the lease. Unless the lease states otherwise, a landlord may not increase the rent during the term of the lease. A landlord may however increase rent on an “at-will” tenant with the appropriate amount of notice.
When Is It Illegal to Raise Rent in Missouri?
According to the Federal Fair Housing Act, it is illegal for a Missouri landlord to raise rent based on the age, race, religion, nation or origin, familial status, or disability status of a tenant.
Missouri does not have any state laws prohibiting landlords from retaliating against tenants for act within legal rights.
Is There a Rent Increase Limit in Missouri?
There is no rent increase limit in the state of Missouri.
How Much Notice Is Needed for Raising Rent in Missouri?
Although Missouri provides no specific statues on the amount of notice that a landlord needs to provide to a tenant to increase rent when dealing with a month-to-month tenant, it is generally the same as the notice period to terminate tenancy. In this instance, a landlord is can provide a 30-Day Notice before he/she may expect an increase in the rent. (Missouri Code 441.060)
For a FREE rent increase notice template, click here.
How Often Can Rent Be Increased in Missouri?
Missouri provides no state statutes on how often a landlord can increase rent.
Laws Regarding Late Fees in Missouri
In Missouri, a landlord can collect a “reasonable” late fee if it’s written in the lease agreement. The “reasonable” fee should be $20 or 20% of the monthly rental amount, whichever is greater. (Missouri Code 415.417)
Laws Regarding Bounced Check Fees in Missouri
The state of Missouri allows a landlord to charge up to $25 plus the fee charged by the landlord’s bank for a rent payment returned for insufficient funds. (Missouri Code 570.120)
Missouri Cities With Rent Control
Missouri has no legislation limiting the amount that a landlord may charge for rent. However, the state does have legislation preempting rent control.