Grab our free sample or generate an official Minnesota month-to-month rental agreement for residential use. Read further about required disclosures in Minnesota, optional addendums for things like pets, and how much notice is needed to terminate month-to-month leases in Minnesota.
Click here to view/download the direct PDF file.
What is a Minnesota Month-to-Month Lease?
Throughout the country, some renters and landlords prefer a less restrictive lease structure than is available through a fixed-term lease. In this situation, some opt to have month-to-month leases, which grant a higher level of flexibility. These leases are oftentimes referred to as at-will leases, and they have a duration of a single month. After the month has elapsed, the lease will renew for the next month into perpetuity. This is an ideal situation for students and temporary workers, and landlords can also benefit from this if they only intend to rent their unit for certain periods during the year. Since the lease has a single month’s duration, this also allows a landlord to raise rents almost at will.
Minnesota Notice Requirements for Month-to-Month Lease Termination
Minnesota’s lease law, which is § 504B.135, is fairly standard when it comes to month-to-month arrangements. Both parties must provide the opposing party with at least 30 days’ worth of notice before seeking to make the unit vacant. This gives the tenant time to find new dwellings and the landlord time to find a new tenant. Sometimes, the rental agreement may allow for a smaller notification window, and if this is the case, Minnesota law permits it. Also, if a tenant pays rent late, then the standard 14-day notice may be served.
Raising Rent in Minnesota
Based on Minnesota law, a landlord is not permitted to raise the rent until the lease term expires. This means that fixed-term leases are relatively advantageous in this regard. Month-to-month leases, on the other hand, can be raised on an almost monthly basis as long as the landlord provides a 31-day notification of the increase. § 504B.177 is that statute that states this, and the extra day is to ensure that the tenant is granted adequate notice and has the option to provide his or her own notification to the landlord in response to the raised rent.